The Amazing Honey Bee -- Part 10steemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago

honeybeeside.jpg

Honey Bee Fact

Did you know?

Bees have five eyes! Two eyes are compound and the other three are tiny ocelli eyes. An ocelli eye has a single lens and several sensory cells. It is used mostly to movement. These ocelli eyes can be found right on the top of the bee's head. Below you can see a close up picture of them.

beeocelli.jpg

PandaStripe.jpg

Honey Bee Story

I think the first question everyone asks me when I tell them I keep bees is, "Do you get stung often?"

Tough question. Often is relative. For most people, if they got stung once a decade, that would be considered often. For me, since I handle bees quite frequently, I consider going a year without being stung as quite a long time.

For the most part, the bees are mellow and not aggressive. From time to time, I upset them and will get stung. Bees don't like loud banging on their hives, fast movement, or dark clothes. Scientists have surmised these all alert them to some type of attack. Imagine a big, brown bear reaching in a hive to get honey. He bangs the hive, moves fast, and has a dark coat of fur. For these reasons, I try to minimize this behavior.

Once, about a year after I started keeping bees, my son had a few of his friends over to swim and play in the yard. One of the friends was fascinated by the bees. He kept going over and looking at them. All good.

But then, like some boys of an age, he started poking inside the hive with a stick. I warned him twice. "Don't do that, the bees will get really mad if you do that."

He ignored me.

beesflying.jpg

Until suddenly, a bunch of bees started coming out of the hive, began to bump into him, and were buzzing loudly. Luckily, no one was stung that day. But the boy in question has never once bothered the hive again.

As an adult, you aren't supposed to say such things as, "I told you so," to a neighbor's child. I refrained from saying it, but I definitely thought it a few times.

PandaStripe.jpg

Beekeeping Lesson 10

The honey bee is a docile creature. They don't actually want to sting and only do so to protect the colony and if seriously threatened outside the hive. There are certain behaviors which will alert a wise beekeeper to a colony preparing to defend themselves.

When the bee colony first begins to defend the hive, several dozen bees will fly out of the hive moving fast. These bees look for dark colors and movement. When they find it, they begin to bump into the object of their ire. This bumping behavior is a first warning.

If the object of their anger doesn't move, the bees will begin to sting it. As they sting the "attacker" a pheromone is released and more bees are attracted to the defense.

As a beekeeper, what is the best way to work with an angry hive? The quick answer is don't. If your hive is distressed, it is best to leave it alone. If you must work with the hive for some reason, use lots of smoke to cover the smell of the pheromone and work with slow, calm movements. This will do wonders to help calm the colony.

beesuit.jpg

The good thing about keeping bees is you can prepare for stings by wearing proper protective clothing. Dressed appropriately, you probably won't be stung at all.

PandaStripe.jpg

**Images used are labeled for free reuse from Pixabay

**Many of the ideas are taken from my book The Beekeeper's Guide: Fun and Simple Steps to Apiary Success and Self Sufficiency

PandaStripe.jpg

Happy Beekeeping!

Follow @bigpanda for more beekeeping hints and tips.

Sort:  

Never knew that about the ocelli eyes @bigpanda. Thanks for teaching me a new fact about bees. I'm hoping to start beekeeping next year.

Thanks. I think you will love beekeeping.

Very good article, @bigpanda =)
I myself know a little about bees, since my father is engaged in beekeeping - this is his favorite thing. I want to add that:

  1. bees are one of the most industrious creatures on the planet;
  2. bees can be aggressive if they do not have a job;
  3. honey is the most delicious and healthy product that nature gives;
  4. besides honey, there are still products that deserve attention - pollen !!!

Fantastic post @bigpanda) Resteem from me.
Thank you very much!

Hi there, @bigpanda Superb knowledge you share about the Honey Bees. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in that issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment, at your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your interesting and enjoyable posts.

Absolutely you have my permission. Thanks so much for asking @aliciaonline.wow.

Hi again, @bigpanda You are very welcome.
It is our pleasure. Have a great day/evening.
PostHunress, @the-curator

Thank you for letting us use your post @bigpanda, sorry for the late posting of your post, it's been just posted in issues 8.
Thank you for putting out fabulous content.
Keep on Steeming!

interesant!

Thanks for coming by @marianneaviva

Very interesting. Maybe someday I'll learn to keep bees. Though it seems bees have long being in extinction in my locality.
I learned something vital about bees here. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted
You may also be interested in some of my articles as I often chose relationship and dating as my niche. Kindly check below
https://steemit.com/dating/@bob-elr/dating-relationship-things-you-should-know .

Very Interesting! Following , Upvoted, Follow me, Thanks @cookin4u

Thanks for tell us about the bumping of the bees as the first warning. I like bees and don't ever want to get them angry.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @bearpaw. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Hi I did not know about the eyes. Very informative. I have a question though. Do you sell the honey or use it for your family? Also would request you to show picture or tell us about the texture of pure honey, because I from my experiences feel that the honey that we buy from the super market are processed .

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51