The Last Told 'Tail' of a Little Fox

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday afternoon, Lady Eye, our neighbour, told me that she had been out walking with her sister and Murphy, the dog, when they came across a dead fox. Lady Eye told me where it was – a section of the woods nearby which was blocked at the far end by the outer bounds of an estate. It is flat and clear of trees in the middle with a wooded hill on one side, and the flowing waters of the burn on the other. Great place to bring a dog, folk do, and Shanti loves it there.
1-little-fox.jpg

image source

On my way to the supermarket I took a detour to look for Fox. There he was, lying in the open meadow, no obvious injury and no wound. Neck twisted, but easily turned - no stiffness. Teeth slightly bared. Soft to touch. Recently dead. An adult. Poison (could be, but really?). More likely I think, hit by a car causing internal injury and he made his way here to die in nature.

fox2.jpg

What to do barge? Not going to just leave him there, local 'authorities' would probably just bin the body, and I'm certainly not going to do that myself. White butterfly flies by and says “Bury him here!” Ok boss, it's a plan. Fox fits into a plastic carrier bag, his body small and yielding. I conceal it under a fallen branch.

Back home then, it's not far. Fetch a shovel and some sundries that just randomly and instinctively spring to mind in association with the little fox and my desire to give him some love & respect. I gather a handfull of fallen tulip petals from outside the front door (pic is from before they fell :), pluck a few leaves off the sage plants, and select three feathers from this year's jar of found-feathers. Plus some incense sticks of course! Shovel, water and bread for the birds as an offering on behalf of the departed spirit.

little-fox-companions.jpg

Other 'foxy' dimensions to the story:

  • 3 years ago, the DJ had a dog also called Shanti (a male) who had been killed when crossing the road in pursuit of a fox. Died instantly, buried in the garden.
  • Just a few weeks ago, this little princess Shanti gave us an almighty fright (she scoffs and says she was ok...but!!!!). She had gone for a walk in the woods with the DJ, when she spotted two Roe deer (usually never this far down the surrounding hills). Off she went chasing them and got herself lost. She found her way back home easily enough and got here well before the DJ. Thing is this was the first time she had done anything like that. She hasn't yet fully developed road awareness (again she scoffs "yeah yeah" 🙄) and was seen crossing the road back and forth a few times before coming in. Scary Shit Shanti! It really shook me up. Lots of foxes around here, and when she gets into the chase zone, well nothing else exists!
  • During the two years I have been here, there has been a fox who regularly visits the housing estate where we live. I have seen him in the back garden and even up on the hedge just outside the kitchen window. He's a bold Mr Fox indeed and thinks nothing of strutting down the lane in full view in the late afternoon or early evenings – middle of the lane, unconcerned. I've seen him cross the road on various occasions and once, when I was out with Shanti, there he was, looking at us motionless just a stone's throw away by the bus stop, aware that Shanti was on a lead and harmless. Of course when Shanti spots him, she goes nuts, but can't do anything – he just looks at her and gloats. Wonder if the dead fox was the same guy? I was fond of him and admired his courage.

Anyways, I get there with Shanti tugging along - she loves this little neck of green. Besides, it seemed a good idea to let her see Fox closeup. Plenty of chases but never caught up with one; and she's never seen a dead fox. When we arrived, she sniffed around curiously and found her way, via a smelly circular canine route, to where I had stashed him in the bag by the branch. She is patient, calm and willing to let me dictate the pace of events. I lay Fox on the ground and she checks him out with a few deft sniffs around his bottom.

arrival.jpg

Then the digging. Ground soft enough- dryish mud with a slight consistency of peat or clay; not too many stones, none large or heavy. A few other people about walking dogs but nobody approaches the long-haired digger and dog.

I place the soft little body into the grave with care. Then the leaves and petals and one of the 3 feathers to accompany him on his voyage. Shanti backs away a little nervously, what's going on? I cover him with earth and light another incense stick. Two feathers stuck in the ground above his head (facing North). Shanti relaxes, her sniffs increase in confidence.

burial.jpg

I spark up and sit for a while with Fox, Shanti, human silence and natural sound.

smoke.jpg

A generous dead tree offers her snappy branches to Shanti and she has a great time chasing sticks and chewing on them – consistency of the bark (ha ha) is just right. The DJ comes along to pick her up and off they go for a proper walk.

sticks.jpg

I sit with Foxy for a further hour or two, smoking my pre-rolled doobs and chilling in mellow Mollyland. Cross-legging, lying down, standing on head - soft breeze blowing.

chill.jpg

Realise I've forgotten my keys. Still no DJ, Shanti when I get back - also forgotten he'd said he was going to be visiting a friend after the walk. Happily, there is backup. Knock on other neighbour, Lady Lee's door. Chip and Spud, the two old dogs wag their hellos. "Spare Key? Hang on a sec while I find it”. Thanks Lady Lee :D.

HSH, and I steemily draft out The Last Told 'Tail' of a Little Fox, which I have now finished putting together.

divider.png

RIP Little Fox!

Sort:  

Touching story. Brought to mind the time I buried a road-killed cat when I was 10 yrs. old. Same tender, compassionate, caring energies. Blessings. And of course could smell to doob from here.

Thanks for your wonderful comment of recognition MM - and not just the doob-aroma :D. Empathy and respect for life only really happened after I turned 40, when I began to extend same towards my self. Till that happened, I kinda zombied around numb, and would probably have walked by the little fox with a not much more than a sentimental and suppressed flutter of something I couldn't name. Respect to your 10 yr-old self that didn't walk past the cat!

Thanks for stopping by, nice to see you here 🔆 🔆 🔆

Rest in peace little fox. How nice of you to bury the furry friend of the forest.

Thanks @sarfine. The white butterfly advised me :)

RIP Fox! It was nice of you and Shanti to bury him. And Shanti was brave to see him. :)

Funnily enough, that night she went crazy around midnight (usually never barks in the house). Went outside to check (actually wondering if it was a fox coz of Shanti's insistence), and there was a (quite big) hedgehog curled up. Shanti sniffed and the HH was gone by morning. Haven't seen one for years!

I just randomly searched Google for 'Hedgehog spiritual meaning', and this is what I got:
"Appreciate life a little more. Enjoy what you have with gratitude and the rest will follow."

Sooooopa Stuff :D
🔆 🔆 🔆

I don't know how I missed your reply! Have never seen a hedgehog except in cartoons. But I love that message about gratitude. I should practice it more. Thank you for the reminder :)

Rin Tin Tin was the first Hollywood dog star.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82