Should a dogs growl be corrected?

in #animals7 years ago

Recently I had a very long argument with another person about if you should punish a dog for growling at a human for doing something to them. They said if a dog growls at a human, then they are aggressive and therefor need further training to correct that action.

Now here is the deal. Dogs do not speak. They communicate by growling, barking and by body language. A dogs growl is a pre-warning sign to back off, as you are making them uncomfortable. Growls are not bad, growling does not make a dog aggressive. Even during play dogs growl, but this is just to say they are having fun pulling on the rope or when they rough house with other dogs.

Would you tell a child to be ok with everyone wanting to touch them, pick them up, take away their toys, take away their food, etc? Telling a child to not to voice their discomfort would be wrong. It's the same thing with a dog. Why can't a dog voice it's discomfort? Why punish a dogs voice of discomfort when it is their way of saying "hey, back off, you're frightening me/making me uncomfortable"

NOT growling leads to biting. Growling is an early warning system that they are uncomfortable. Take away the warning and you get a dog who skips the warning and just bites because no one ever respected the warning anyway. Never punish a growl. If the dog growls you find the cause and fix the problem, then the growl goes away.

Dogs should get a choice. I don't even pet them unless they want to be pet. If they walk away, they have every right. There are rules and structures, things they're not allowed to do, but consent is important in animals as much as it's important in humans

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, enjoy the platform

I also agree. If a human fails to respect a growl and doesn't back down, then, from the dogs' viewpoint he/she becomes the aggressor. Continue and the action becomes one of an agitator. At some point, especially if the dog is a dominant type, it may become aggressive. When a dog is non-dominant it is more likely to bite out of fear when challenged.
I worked training police and military dogs years ago and have much experience wearing a padded suit and being bit.
I was a professional agitator (my wife says I still am) : D
My position on this is, respect the dogs' growl it is the human who needs corrected.

I agree with you. Dogs senses fear, right? They bark at people who are scared at them, chases running people and barks at strangers.

I'm living in a rented space right now and my landlord owns a dog. He's on leash and whenever he sees me, he barks loudly. My board mates always wonder why he does that. I love dogs but I think they don't always like me. But Buchog never bit me. Ever. I'd like to think that he's happy whenever he sees me and barks at me as a greeting.

So, no! Dogs shouldn't be corrected. They shouldn't be punished.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38