A Zookeepers Life #7 We Love Poop

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

When you see the title “Zookeeper” you think I just work with animals and do nothing else, that we cuddle them all day and spend the whole 8-9 hours just watching them. I can dispel the myth right now and tell you we do A LOT more than that.

IMG_6561.JPG

We do a lot of cleaning… and I mean A LOT. There is so much poo, from small poo to huge poo in fact zookeepers love poo, why on earth would we love poo you ask? It comes in all shapes, sizes, consistencies and colours that it tells us a lot about the health of our animals and if we can make adjustments we will. Monitoring Poo is vital!

IMG_5247.JPG

Poo fact of the day is- did you know that wombats have square poo? This is because they have a square-shaped anus- Isn’t that amazing?! More poo Facts will come into the Amazing Animals posts.

c6HOVib.jpg
Source

A zookeeper does not only look after the animals but also, we spend time ensuring the sections are neat and tidy from rubbish, sweeping the plant hedges of leaf litter and debris, even washing and drying 25 windows every day (one of the other sections cleans 200 windows every day!). The job is incredibly tiring both physically and mentally, it really isn’t for everyone.

We are also our own vets administering drugs for routine vaccinations and medical treatment, through that we take a lot of photographs of our animals to send over to our veterinary team- this is a vitally important to monitoring changes in our animals. Nutritionists ensuring all the animals in our care have the best possible diet and researching new foods that would be suitable. We are also gardeners, giving our animals lots of cut browse to keep them busy throughout the day. There is so much more to the zoo keeping role that goes on other than “cuddling animals”.

IMG_6286.JPG

On Thursday, it was my usual day off but after a small trip to the hospital and a minor operation I then had to take 3 days off work to rest and recuperate. This means that I am spending most of my day doing paperwork, it is so important to have records and daily paperwork up to date as an insurance that anyone could run the section should we not be able to. Until my stitches are out, I won’t be in working fully with my animals and that means very little time to see Basil, this morning I did get to see him briefly as I was checking all the animals were OK. He came over for a good scratch which really brightened my day.

I spent my morning with the smaller animals of our section cleaning out small reptile vivarium’s, feeding a snake his dinner, cleaning our invertebrate tanks and tidying the cupboards it was pretty fun. The rest of the day, I spent it updating vital paperwork and organising folders to make vital information easier to find for everyone and then spent a little time playing with number 10 and 11 in their exhibit as they were driving me mental trying to get into reception to sit on my shoulder and as much as I love to have them around I would rather they didn’t try and get out.

IMG_8159.JPG

Todays Animal Profile

Scientific Name: Tiliqua
Common Name: Blue-Tongued Skink
ID: Solomon

IMG_9073.JPG

Age: unknown
Birth Location and details: Captive - pet
Current Weight: 690Grams
Pecking Order: Solitary
Diet: Dog food, live snails, fresh veg and herbs, fruit
Favourite things: Live snails- yum yum, digging and hissing

IMG_9277.JPG

Behaviour: Solomon is new to us having come from a rescue charity seized from his owner for mistreatment. He is very shy and will hiss a lot when he is handled. He is very inquisitive and loves to dig his head into substrate and leave his body hanging out – thinking he is hidden well! He is an amazing looking reptile with his long body and tiny stumpy legs we often see him moving around his vivarium finding a new dig spot.

IMG_9093.JPG

Are they dangerous? They can bite however they are not poisonous. Danger is minimal
**Conservation Status: ** Least Concern, their numbers are stable!
Amazing Fact: Other than the fact their tongue is actually blue they are cliff divers – never leave your skink on a high surface or they will throw themselves off it as they are completely without fear.

IMG_9095.JPG

I hope you enjoyed todays post! don't forget to resteen, upvote and follow me for more

Sort:  

learned something about the wombat today :)

I can't believe I didn't see this one! One of my early posts was "We Love Poop" also! xD

oh my word really?! I will check it out!! It’s so true how much we love poo haha

signature.png

It's always fun when a new volunteer enters the lunchroom to hear keepers talking about poop over lunch!

My favourite is when you go out into public and it’s always the first thing you talk about when they get excited over your job role... WHY DO WE DO THIS! Ahah

signature.png

Brilliant post! I love reading your blog, I would love to help out at a zoo!

Get ready for a lot of poo then :D ha ha :)

I am used to it, I have 5 dogs! xD haha

Do people seriously think that zookeepers spend all day every day cuddling animals? o_O

I was going to ask the same question as @ravenruis, but our zoo calls it "Creature Compost" XD

goatsig

ps I randomly made this thing for you.

Should be able to right click save. Please don't feel obliged to use it if you don't want to, I just felt like making one starring Basil XD

goatsig

That is so kind of you, I absolutely love it, thank you so so much!

Yes I believe we sell Rhino and Elephant dung :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @amavi to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

never have i been so educated about poop hahahahaha.... great photos as well Solomon looks super cool i love that tounge!!

ha ha we love poo! There will be so much more to learn about poo in my amazing animals posts! Solomon is awesome, I will get so more photos of him soon :)

Is that what they call a shitty job? :P

I must say you have an amazing job, tiring but rewarding as well.

There is a whole lot of poo!!

signature white background.png

Hehe! I can only imagine...thankfully I cannot smell it :P

unique job doing what you love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49