What I love about my work - Contest

in #animals6 years ago

This is for @emergehealthier's "What I love about my work" contest



I'm going to write about a "job" I did for 5 or 6 years, but recently stopped (you'll know why I stopped by the end of the post).

I was a professional pet sitter and house sitter, living in other people's homes and taking care of other people's animals.

I stayed with countless dogs and cats (well, I guess if I really put my mind to it, I could count them, but I don't really know how many dogs and cats I watched). Also on the list of animals I took care of:

  • rabbits
  • horses
  • sheep
  • a goat
  • chickens
  • rats
  • fish
  • a turtle

and... the easiest pet sitting gig I ever had: taking care of a slug in a tank for a month. I had to feed it every third day. That was it.








What I loved about it: Interacting with so many sweet, sweet animals. Each one had a different personality, a different intelligence level, their own likes and dislikes. Sorta like humans, I guess.

In fact, animals are really just beings in non-human bodies... a little bit different from humans, but in many ways very similar.

I developed relationships and rapport with some of the animals that I stayed with for long periods of time or for multiple stays. Generally, dogs are much quicker to accept someone new into their homes -- "Hey! It's someone new! Throw my ball!" -- than cats are. So when that moment came when a cat would accept me enough to brush against my leg or sit in my lap, I was happy and grateful for their affection.

And the reason I stopped? I got a cat of my own, and it just didn't seem right to leave her alone in order to go stay with other animals... kinda like I was two-timing.

=^..^=

Sort:  

@alom8 You have received a 100% upvote from @qualitycentral because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thanks for the upvote!

What a great job. I love your reason for leaving. Cats can be finky, it is best not to cheat on them.

I read the post to Furball and Kathy, they would love to have you and your cat pet sit for them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Furball! Are you sure you want a cat to pet sit you? I didn't know turtles like cats.

And Kathy, I see you're ready to play ball!
😁

Furball is the dog, Kathy is the turtle. Kathy figured they could engage in the mutual activity of ignoring each other.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha, I was just messin' with Furball. Dogs don't like it when you use their names on another animal. 🍌

Loved how you took care of animals, @alom8 and quit because didn’t want to two-time your cat. 😊. Cat are very possessive and get jealous easily. Shared.

Thanks, @redheadpei. Yeah, cats can get pretty attached to their person... but heaven forbid they'd actually SHOW you that. haha

That's where the expression 'cool cat' came from!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-06T16:25:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @alom8! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alom8! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alom8! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86