Kiwi Mare

aroha1-90.jpg


I spent a month in New Zealand in the spring of 2016, documenting an event in the most pristine, idyllic valley.

Each day, as I walked between my accommodations and the place I was tasked with photographing, I passed this beautiful mare. I'd always pause to say 'hello' – she'd saunter towards the fence to check me out with high hopes that I'd come bearing the gift of an apple.


camera: Canon EOS 5D Markiii
lens: 50mmf1.2 Prime
specs: ISO 100 - f1.2 - 1/320 sec
date / location: 9 February 2016 / Whitemans Valley, Upper Hutt, North Island, New Zealand

Sort:  

Look at that smile:)
I'm sure she loves it when the Little Bird floats in her path;)

It did feel nice that she'd always walk over to me, even if she was looking for treats. ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 23:31:24
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 268.68/400.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.94 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I would argue about Upper Hutt having the most idyllic valley here in NZ lol ;) but your model definitely has that kiwi glint in her eye! She's certainly beautiful <3

Upper Hutt itself, yes – leaves something to be desired. That particular valley, though....have you spent time there?

I have a niggling feeling that I've been there once, but not long enough to appreciate it.

While you were here did you get to areas like the Coromandel, or the Marlborough Sounds? Soooo lovely. :)

Unfortunately, I did not! I was there for work, so I didn't get around the island much. Next time!

I hope you do get the opportunity then. :) Fabulous photo opportunities!

A majestic looking horse like that would have deserved an apple too :).

I absolutely agree! I did ensure I had one for her on occasion. ;)

Oh she looks so sweet. I just want to jiggle that relaxed flubby lower lip!

She had the most beauteous eyelashes!

really deep eyes

It's so beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03