IT TAKES ALL KINDS OF BUSINESS TO MAKE THE WORLD GOAROUND

DSCN0511 (2).JPG


People often ask what do you do ? I always answer with self employed . Most people around here are either in the agriculture business or commute to the city for work . I raise livestock . Not like most people who raise cattle . Their at the top of the hierarchy then the sheep followed by the goat herders . Everyone has horses and chicken so they don't count .
I keep a low profile and have cornered the market in my nitch . It's nice not having any competition . No regulations or pesty inspectors poking around . Back to nature I say , old school with no injection of the latest round of hormone growth .
I raise Rabbits . I no you say what's so special about that . Let me tell you . I don't keep them in boxes or cages . No not like the cruel chicken raiser . I raise free range rabbits . They are healthier and leaner . the mighty survive wan the week perish as it was meant to be . Leaving us with only the strong to carry on and reproduce the next generation .
I enjoy watching them run all around the yard as they eat and play . Healthy , energetic and happy as they enjoy the freedom that they were entitled to . Spring is coming and soon they will appear more and more throughout the yard . Little ones learning to forge with an eye out for predators . As I keep watch over the landscape .
People may laugh and snicker as I am a free range rabbit rancher but a rancher I am . I might not punch any cows but I have a good herd of Rabbits .

DSCN0512.JPG


https://discordapp.com/invite/EagC4Zz

Sort:  

Hello. I found you through @asapers. Thanks for the colorful post. I enjoyed your enthusiasm for "free-range rabbit ranching". Great stuff.

Raising free-range rabbits would be awesome. I dream of the day when I can put distance between myself and neighbors and have a lot more animals. Rabbits, chickens, maybe even a couple goats and cows...and a large garden, of course.

I commend you for keeping them free and not cooped up, much less drugged up. That's the way it should be. Best wishes to you! 🐇🐰

I can't do neighbors . I like the wildlife . and everyone seems to own horses here . I'm looking into 2 cows , maybe :)
I see on your blog that you have a resteem on , Autism , maybe you can get with @imagindragon , A friend of mine who is dealing with those issues

I can't wait until I am neighborless and surrounded by nature!

Thank you for the suggestion. I resteemed for a new friend on here, @omitaylor, in support of April being Autism Awareness Month. It seems she has already found @imaginedragon, but I had not and am now following her. The Story I Dare Not Speak did me in 😊

yes . I am glad , support is so important , they are a great family . thank you
I didn't know "April being Autism Awareness Month".

You're right about that. I didn't know either until I read the post, so now I am more than happy to spread the word and support it. Thank you again for sharing; they really do look like great people and a wonderful family.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Fun post. Love the rabbits in our yard. They can eat whatever they want from our garden.

Now the squirrels and skunks...they have been put on trial, judged and found guilty with a death sentence. We have a neighbor who feeds the squirrels shelled peanuts and now they don't fear humans. She lets them eat from her hand so anytime they see my kids in the yard they run up to them trying to get food. Even when the kids scream at them the squirrels keep coming at them. So I've shot a few of them as they are a danger to my family IMO. They are given a fair chance as I only use a BB gun on them as our houses are way to close to be shooting a real gun. But a shot in the butt I figure reminds them not to be friendly to humans.

Really the neighbor needs a BB in her ass for trying to domesticate wild animals and turning them into a problem.

As for the skunks...well I've never actually had the chance to shoot one but sure the BB would just piss it off anyways. Also due to our idiot neighbor they are horrible in our neighborhood as they come to eat all the scraps that she tosses out each night for the animals to eat. They end up spraying to keep the raccoons away. Completely ridiculous that we need to deal with that each night spring, summer, and fall....not nearly as bad in the winter.

skunks , them things are shoot on sight . I can't stand the smell and they carry rabies . Nothing worse than getting a cup of coffee then go to sit on the porch to take in the evening and smell that crap .
Dumbass neighbors have no idea on how their actions affect others . Or they just don't care . I couldn't live in the city
I just shot another armadillo yesterday . 20 ft from my front door just tearing up the yard damn pests

Neighbors are good and bad. This one is just a pain in the butt. She has had the police tell her to stop, but still continues.

I don't have neighbors so to speak and I like it . It's a trek to go to the store but give and take that's life . The safety of our kids is always .

Do they interact with you at all or do they just do their own thing? We had a rabbit when I was little, but that was too long ago for me to really remember what its personality was like.

a little . some no longer fear us . for the most part they do their own thing . its a joy to watch . one evening there were 6 deer and a couple rabbits just grazing for about an hour . that was a sight as I watched drinking my coffee

That sounds like it would be good to watch. The deer reminds me of one Christmas we had back when I was still living with my parents. Someone nearby to where we lived at the time had deer and they escaped on Christmas. On Christmas morning we saw a deer in our front yard. It looked like it was a reindeer that had been left behind from Christmas night.

thats nice
I for the most part like the wildlife
have to control the coyotes and armadillos other then that , nice

You know whats funny/ironic.. I have side convos with @kelsnm about doing something like this...

I always say we need to find a niche, and then I quickly follow with, "Rabbits, lets raise rabbits.."

We have so many around here as it is.. could build a pen, catch a few and let the fun begin!

Hi @wolfhart, nice to meet you!! Congratulations on having your post selected by the #asapers!! My daughter is also a rabbit enthusiast. They are hard keepers! These lil'guys have many unique characteristics. Bunny raising is not for the faint of heart. I wish you well on your Bunny Ranch 🐇

thank you it was an honor . There trickey little buggers and require care . I find it easier to let them roam and provide safe places for them . they don't go far .

Best way to do it if you can! When we had bunnies loose on the property they even pushed the cats away! Such interesting critters 🐇

my biggest problems is the coyotes . I have a couple large spotlight up . That helps . and places for them to hide under all around .

Oh yeah, coyotes. Like to get them for sure. We also had a ferret get one litter. How do you keep the buns from your garden? I had to put up chicken wire to keep them out. The buns ate EVERYTHING!!!! It was nuts! Thank-heavens it was the very end of the season. The fence went up before the next season started LOL.

I haven't had a problem with the garden . I even had them give birth (litter) under the tomato plants . I have no idea why they haven't eaten anything worth noting out of the garden . I do throw coffee grinds all around the garden maybe that has something to do with it .

Wow!!! That's really neat! I use coffee grounds in my garden too. So surprising! What a neat treat to have a rabbit nest in your tomatoes, awe!!!! I found a salamander burrow LOL. Oh, the homesteading life!!! I will be sad to not have my own garden this year. Life has its way. I am back in the city. Getting on my feet again after a tumultuous second half to 2017. But, am looking forward to helping my sister get her urban garden going. She lives nice and close by so it's a plus. 🐇🌱🌸

I hope things work out for you this year . an urban garden can be a very nice thing . I have seen some awesome ones . nice to be close to family .

Wow, free range rabbits are leaner, just like keeping fit, I guess I've learnt something here.

All free animals are leaner than those kept in a cage or pen . :)

I love them too,until they eat my garden, with the cats :(

sprinkle pepper or paprika around the garden . :)

That does work? I have heard all kinds of things from human hair to certain animal urine. I just usually put a fence up. Last year we didn't but they didn't bother it. The cats ate my pumpkins, though.

damn cat's
I tried the pepper once then it rained . so much for that . fence is best , small holes like chicken wire .

that's what my wife says too . I never found the need to . It helps to keep them in but not out . They usually take the path of least resistance and go around or along the fence .

I just do because I was taught that way. It has usually worked :)

Its laziness on my part . it does work

You're the first free range rabbit ranch owner that I meet. Nowadays everything gets injected with hormones. I am glad to hear there are people who still want to grow animals they old fashion way.

it's the best way . not as profitable but rewarding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90