Little birdie told me

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)


We were high up the Cuban mountains, trying to save our sanity from the sun. Trinidad was left far behind. Our taxi driver (really nice guy actually, quite silent, since he did not speak any English) parked his car and said something in Spanish. We understood only that there's a terrace nearby from which you can see the mountains all around us. We got out the cab and started climbing countless stairs. When we finally made it, a little bird greeted us, inviting to take in the breathtaking views of Topes de Collantes, Cuba.
January, 2018


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Beautiful photo! I absolutely love the light leak. There's nothing that adds to a colorful photo like a well-placed light leak. :)

Thank you, it's really nice for you to say that! :)
And as for the leak, I actually edited the picture a bit with alien skin for photoshop, added the red stripe to cover the yellowness of the flower and brought the opacity down.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T17:55:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I can't help but love this. This little unassuming, drab (really), bird (probably the female) cheerful amongst all the splendid color! I'd sure like to know what caused the strange swath of color on the right side of the image, but I forgive it that because of the composition. I hope to see more!

So nice that you liked it! The red stripe is actually added in post, I used alien skin plugin for photoshop to add it. Basically, the yellow flower on the right kind of took all the attention but I didn't want to chop the photo, so I improvised a bit.

lol - you fooled me!

I tend to use photoscape and after a basic autolevel (just in case), I'd probably use a touch of backlight on this one to bring out the color of the bird more and darken the flower a smidge.

That's actually a great advise, thanks!

Hi @tinymishiefs

I checked out your account on steemnow.com and saw you only received 1 curation rewards in the past week.

Do you maybe want to earn more for your upvotes?

Hi @sacryptocollect
Sure it would be nice to earn more, but for the last week and a half I wasn't being very active, neither posting nor upvoting/commenting, soI guess it's only natural :)

I agree, but that's what is so awesome about steemauto and curation trails, it's automated. Therefore you do not even need to upvote to earn.

If you want to know more, you can check out my newest post where I explained more: https://steemit.com/giveaway/@sacryptocollect/give-away-curation-trail-we-get-paid-to-upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01