My Parabuthus Transavaalicus' final molt!

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

I've been keeping 4 Parabuthus Transavaalicus (P.T.) scorpions for a whole year now, and I've got them all since they were around 3 to 4 insta (molted 3 to 4 times). P.T. scorpions usually reach sexual maturity at 7 or 8 insta so when this little guy started molting, I got a bit too excited cos he's way way behind his other siblings.

Here's he today:
2000pixel.jpg

AND THIS WAS HIM YESTERDAY:
2000pixel.jpg

To be honest, I got a slight heart attack when I saw him flip over like that because I've never seen P.T scorpions molt; my other scorpions didn't flip over to molt like they did, like tarantulas. I texted my friend in panic and he assured me that some dessert species molt on their back.

So to up the humidity, I rolled some tissue soaked with water and left it near him. Raised humidity helps the scorpion wriggle out of his old exoskeleton more easily.

2000pixel.jpg

Then I placed him inside the cupboard and left him in total darkness to molt in peace. Sure enough, I got a pleasant surprise today when I woke up to see this!

2000pixel.jpg

You can see his soft white-ish body because he hasn't hardened his exoskeleton yet. I'm going to wait for about 1 whole week before throwing in a cricket or two.

And oh, yeah, you can see his old shell discarded at the side; that was his size 12 hours ago!


image001.png

Credits to @pinstory and @coloringiship for these beautiful illustrations of me. <3

image001.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 09:23:07
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 150.65/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.47 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Holy Sh#t! That's so interesting! Never thought about scorpions and how they transition to adulthood.

lets buy some bran!!!

Got too many cats here la. Scared for them hahahaha

Amazing! He is so prettayyyyy!! <3

Prettier than me

Such an eye opener! How did it grew in size overnight?! Thanks for sharing this.

Magical right? I love (the happy part) of nature ❤

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

That looks like an alien insect sent from Planet Zordium to lay eggs on human kidneys

Whats a planet zordium and omgg why human kidneys to be specific

I don't even know, it was random 😂😂

Hahahahah ommgg

That's really interesting at the same time I'm squeamish XD Good on you not-so lil' guy!

The most beautiful creatures are often misunderstood 😔

Well, they have you to love them! :)

this is a very interesting choice of pet and to think I always argue that a goldfish isn't even a pet because you can't 'pet' them ;)

you're so loving like a mom to them! that's sweet :)

Planning to be a mom to more!

hahaha! they can reproduce ah? I got phobia ever since my hamsters reproduced until I no money to buy more cages :/

Yasss they give birthh yooo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46