The Birdlife of Jökulsárlón, Iceland - [Original Photo Series]

Hey all,

Jökulsárlón is located in southern Iceland and is normally noted for its amazing iceberg lagoon and diamond beach. However, the birdlife there is also astounding if you stop to take a look at it. All of these images were taken over the outlet channel between the Jökulsárlón lagoon and the ocean. There were a large number of arctic terns, gulls and some large black seabirds that I am not sure the species of. They were quite intent on trying to steal the fish from the terns. The terns are nasty little buggers, on the way to our boat ride we had to walk beside a nesting site and we got dive bombed by them!

Hope you like these images.

IMG_4503.jpg

Arctic Tern Hovering

IMG_4496.jpg

Tern being chased down

IMG_4495.jpg

Tern being chased down again

IMG_4504.jpg

Tern In Flight

IMG_4502.jpg

Tern ready to dive for dinner

IMG_4498.jpg

Gull in flight

IMG_4493.jpg

Gull in flight around the icebergs

Sort:  

Wow! I am speechless!
You are so lucky that you saw these birds and Iceland in real life!
I live in Hungary, but I never travelled outside the country so far.
But I would like one day!
That will not be easy, because I have multiple disabilities and I can't make real life friends and I am unable to work. I am 25 years old.
I spent most of my life inside my house. I get a very low pension-like monthly income.
But I still wish I could see the wildlife and the nature in a foreign country in the future!
Especially at least in one of the northern countries, like Greenland, Canada, Iceland, Norway, Finland, Sweden. As well as other countries, like Japan.
Seeing the northern lights in real life would be also wonderful/fabulous!
There are so many beautiful things/places out there!

Thank you for showing us a little piece from Iceland!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

I am absolut in love with iceland :D
Some of the birds i see by myself too in september 2017! :D

Have you also shoot puffins there? :D

Awesome Pics! Thank you for sharing your old post. :D

Sweet little Birds. :D
On my trip this year i only saw 2 of them, far far away on the sea. :D

You have made 5 comments today in one of my 52 photography hashtags and received a {} percent upvote for your effort!

>Learn more here<

Very sweet and most excellent captures of flight

Are you going to comment with anything other than the word "nice" on everyone's photograph's? It just looks a bit spammy and you might get some upvotes if you put some effort into your comments.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 17:29:41
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 506.85/800.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 20
Total contest wins: 9
And have also received a 2.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very nice images! It's so hard to capture nice pictures of birds when they are flying at such speeds, so awesome job managing such great images!

Really clear photography. The first is perfect. I went to iceland and keep an wonderful memory. Have you seen puffin? Easier to photograph them !

Incredible shots, some of these are amazing

Thanks, much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50