Daily Birding 📷 149 - CONTEST! :)

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbirds - Selasphorus platycercus



2E5A1751 Hummingbirds at feeder.jpg


I know, more hummingbird photos, but they're so cute! I love that these two are sitting right next to each other.

It's been a while since the last contest, so here's a small, midweek contest for shares of @steembasicincome.

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.


Challenge:



Tell me a birding story from your life! It can be as long as you like.
I would love to see any photographs you have of your experience, but it is not required. :)


Upvote this post.


Prize:



Two (2) names will be drawn and be sponsored for 1 SBI share each when this post pays out.
(Drawing winners will be briefly reviewed for plagiarism before qualifying)

Who am I?



I am a bird enthusiast and amateur photographer. I challenged myself to posting a bird photo every day in 2018! I include bite-sized information with my photos to create awareness about these beautiful creatures. :) @josephsavage is my husband and the creator and manager of @steembasicincome. We are expecting the first
addition to our nest early June. :)

Follow me for future contests.





LocationHuntsville, Utah
CameraCanon EOS 7D Mark II
Lens18 - 135mm
Photo of Us@kass-and-bax

My SteemitWorldmap Locations

@originalworks

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-30T04:59:06
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 876.59/1600.00
Total Photos: 128
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=katysavage
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=daily-birding-149-contest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I haven’t bird watched much since my grandmas passed away. She loved hummingbirds though. I remember filling her 5 feeders every time I visited. Cool picture.

What a beautiful memory. Where was that, if you don't mind sharing.

Northern Utah. Cache valley.

No way, are you still in the area?

Yup. Still here. You familiar with cache valley?

It is a great place.

Yeah, I am. @josephsavage and I live in the Salt Lake area.

This is awesome... can't believe I just spotted your feed!!! My husband is besotted by birds and his Dad runs a big bird group in UK. We are in Australia now though so it's a lot of different birds here!!! A bird story... hmmm... I will think about that. Great idea for a post though!! How long have I got?

Hello and welcome! :)
I hope to travel to Australia someday. I've heard from someone who grew up there about the Lyrebirds, so beautiful and such talent!
As far as the contest you have until the post pays out, 7 days from when it was posted (so roughly 6 days from now).

Coolio! So much posting to do!! I might have to combine a challenge or two to get it done!!

Yeah, feel free to make a post about it and link it in the comments on the contest. That way you have the opportunity to get paid for it as well. :)
But if you find you don't have time, you can simply write a comment.

I think they're gossiping about the boys. :-))

lol. I think they just might be. :)

You might enjoy checking out my mutant chicken.... :-))

My late wife got me into birding. We were travelling from Key West to visit my folks in Hudson, Florida. We had an extra day to travel, and had just left the keys, and headed across Snake Valley to the Gulf Coast. Kay told me she would like to visit the Everglades. I responded that we had already seen lots of alligators, so what else was there to see. She told me she was a birder, and wanted to go birding there. As the dutiful young husband of a very pregnant wife of course I agreed. We shared her binoculars, an old pair of 7x35 Bushnells, and our first species was Pileated Woodpecker, as about 6 were destroying palm trees by the ranger station. I bought a Peterson Guide there. Our next stop was Anhinga Way, where we had up close and personal looks at nearly every North American long-legged wader. I was hooked, though she teased me for the rest of our time together that I didn't look at a bird less than 12 inches tall on that trip. I never looked back, and have been an avid birder ever since. This was long before digital photography, so no photos, just really fond memories.
Knowing that you are expecting soon made me think of this story. My prayers and best wishes for you going forward.

Thank you so much @birdbanter. This is such a beautiful story.
This reminds me of my husband and me when I started birding. I remain more passionate about it than he is, but he enjoys going out and seeing the birds too, especially now that I use my camera so he can use the binoculars. :)

Get him a pair of binos of his own! Father's Day is around the corner.

What a lovely story and a lovely memory. xx

Hi @katysavage - I put together this post

https://busy.org/@riverflows/the-joy-of-birdscaping-another-dimension-to-our-paradise

As noted, the bird photos are from birdlife Australia as we don't really take many bird photos. However there's a story attached to it and I think you might enjoy it xx

Just wondered if you got this @katysavage ? I know it's easy to miss stuff on Steemit - I'm sorting through today's communicatons as it is.. phew!

Sorry about that, yes, I have definitely seen this comment and read your beautiful post. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30