Meerkat Monday Animal Photography


20140530-IMG_5992 copy.jpg

Meerkats are funny animals. They are super cute, but a little strange. No other animal behaves quite like them. They are instantly recognisable by the way they sit up on their hind legs.. you often hear people say "awwww he think's he's people.." Fun fact: they sit up like that to look out for predators. They live together in big groups and they take turns watching for predators. They are so vulnerable they do this for every waking moment they are awake and outside of their shelter.

Of course, whenever I see them now I am reminded of the meerkat ads on tv. I don't know if they have them anywhere outside the UK but these adds are for a price comparison website called "compare the market.com". It started with an add where a meerkat with a russian accent implores the audience that comparethemarket.com and comparethemeerkat.com websites are different so stop coming to his site for price comparisons, he only compares meerkats.. anyway it snowballed and now there are loads. If you go to youtube you can find loads of the ads. Just search 'compare the meerkat'.

Digression over... I am submitting this for @juliank's monday contest category: animalphotography.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 18:44:23
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 243.92/400.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

you should see the babies... they are even cuter :)

I saw them alive :) They are beautiful

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Little cutie :)

He is adorable.. almost took him home with me ;)

The cutest thing ever! Meerkat. First time I have ever seen a picture of one.

Then you've missed out! They're super cute! Especially the babies :D

I wonder how different they are from the American Prairie Dog? They look kinda similar.

Not very from what I understand. They have very similar social dynamics and employ the same kind of group defence as meerkats.. they're even sometimes referred to as American Meerkats .. so they must be distant cousins of sorts.

Enjoyed your photo and your writing. Thank you

Thanks! I'm glad you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50