Falling from the sky - kind of

in #animalphotography7 years ago

My entry for today @juliank's #animalphotography challenge is a photo of a tiny dormouse.

100_0714.JPG

You may wonder where did I found it? It fell from the sky, well, almost. We have a huge problem with dormice in the late summer and fall. They are having a lot of babies, at that time of year and they are searching a place to stay. So where better, than in our houses attic. Despite we changed the roof they find a way to come up there. During the day, they are sleeping, but at night we just hear them munching our pears and wood.

100_0713.JPG

One day this little cutie fell down from the attic to the ground. Unfortunately, he didn't have a nice future. I know, they are making some damage, but how can anyone be so cruel and make some harm to this fluffy creature of nature. Did you ever saw them in person?

100_0712.JPG

Photo made by me and my old KODAK EASYSHARE M530 Digital Camera

Sort:  

We had to have our attic insulation removed due to a mouse infestation. It was sanitized, then reblown with a cellulose insulation that mice don't like. We had our roof done as well.

We live fairly close to a creek and near a lot of subdivision builds.

The type we had are called deer mice (because of their color) and they carry disease.

We've sat and watched these little critters climb up the brick wall of the house beside us. The find a way in under the soffit or under a loose shingle.

They are attracted to seeds left out for the birds and of course heat.

When there is a matter of health, money shouldn't be the problem. I believe you did the best you could, but the animals are tough. They adapt quickly. When hunger is involved, then they will do anything to survive.

So pretty!!!

Thank you!

How cute and small! I have only 2 time seen these animals. Thank you for showing me that!

Thank you!

Hemm, makes me feel like holding it. Thank you for your post.

I did. :) I couldn't resist it. So tiny - just a half of my palm. :) And thank you.

pity what the beast is

That's the circle of life, I guess...

Very nice photo, it looks very cute!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Lol so tiny and cute!

:) Thank you.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.95 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 3/5
Multiplier: 1.19
Server time: 20:32:07
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 126.95/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 21
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

How cute and small! I have never seen these animals. Thank you for showing me that!

And thank you for coming around. Too bad I don't have any photo of the fully grown animal - they are a bit too scared and quick for our eyes and the camera. But I bet you can try to google it. ;)

I can do it? How?

Or I can just show you - look at them here.

Спасибо, с удовольствием!

Your welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44