An Eastern Gray Tree Frog

in #animalphotography7 years ago

This is a photo I took in Autumn when I was at my sister-in-laws house. I've always heard the frogs calling sounds but had never seen one until that day. Turns out it is an Eastern Gray Tree Frog. It was on the outside wall of her red shed. The Eastern Gray Tree Frog can be found mainly in the eastern United States and southeastern Canada. Evidently, they can change their coloring according to the weather. They can appear as green, gray and brown. This frog was about two inches long and mostly a light gray in color. They like to eat small insects including spiders and mites. I was surprised to see it during the day and on a shed but possibly it was looking for food or was taking in some warmth from the sun hitting the shed. Maybe it thought it was a tree as the shed is made of wood. I didn't touch it as I didn't want to disturb it and it turns out that it can produce a toxic skin secretion which can cause extreme discomfort to the eyes, lips, mucus lining of the nose, open cuts and abrasions (cited from https://srelherp.uga.edu/anurans/hylchr.htm). Glad I listened to that little voice in my head that said just take the photo and leave it alone!!

treefrogonredshedok1.jpg

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 3 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! ;)

He's a cute little guy. I wouldn't have touched him either though.

I did use to have fire belly frogs in a fish tank I would touch but they were small. :)

Thanks Deb and I'm sooo glad I didn't touch it cause I was tempted. I just followed your hubby and told him to give you something from me?! ;)

Thanks! He's at work now but I have the day off and get to sit here.

(Okay, so maybe I have housework to get done. LOL)

Lol..I hear ya'! About to get off of here myself and yeah..get some housework done! = )

He can't hide on the red wood. Nice photo.

Lol..stood out like a sore thumb!Thank you @ninjajon!!

Yep knock on wood I have never hurt myself picking up toads and frogs I need to keep this in mind if the option ever shows itself.---sounded weird. I move them out of trouble I have a bunch of crazy dogs that love eating everything!

Yeah, still not sure how I feel about it either cause I know I've picked up frogs and toads off roads and such, to get them off the road, but I know they weren't tree frogs so maybe I've been lucky. Toads are much easier to catch..lol!! Thanks @spacetrucker!!

this is so cool :) Nice shot!

Thanks @lovablesoul!! It was nice of him to let me get the photo! ;)

That's incredible, I don't know what I like the most - the colour of the wood the frog is on or the frog itself. Fascinating to lear more about it as well - a great share thank you.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you @c0ff33a!! I don't think I could've asked for a better contrast in colors! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58