Abbey's hair cut



In order to really enjoy a dog,
one doesn't merely try to train him to be semi human.
The point of it is to open oneself to the possibility of becoming partly a dog.
Edward Hoagland


Although, during the colder months, we let Abbey's hair grow a bit longer, we've never let it grow this long.

Our groomer was out of commission for a while so we tried to manage the matting and knots on our own. It didn't work out so well. She was terribly matted around the edges where the velcro from her sweater met. Poor Abbey had to be shaved. The fur came off like a sheep being sheared.

I love her adorable face but I do like her fur to be a bit longer.

BEFORE

AFTER

The great pleasure of a dog is that you may make a fool of yourself with him
and not only will he not scold you,
but he will make a fool of himself too.
Samuel Butler, Notebooks, 1912




photos by

Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm | 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



Sort:  

beautiful photos and excellent quotes that highlight the human-dog relationship :)

Our girl. Yes.

Dogs are naturally submissive to any creature with higher pack status, human or canine.

It's true, very true.

Abbey a good girl! She will be cooler in the hot weather. I hope her hair grows before winter or she may need an extra thick sweater. :)
Thanks for the cute story.

Oh ya....she has hair not fur so there is no under fur and she definitely needs a sweater and a coat in the winter.

We were at the vet yesterday and there was a white dog similar to your quite large and I heard her mention that she is a purebred so she won't shed.
Curly haired doggies. :)

Yup. Half golden retriever and half chocolate standard poodle. I think she has more poodle than golden but that's okay. She doesn't not shed, no. She's about 62 pounds. I forget how big she is until she cllimbs onto my lap. Snuggler that she is.

hehehehehe but i love when they look like teddy bears like that!!!!!

i really don't want another dog. i do... but i don't.

but if i DID get one... it would be one with hair - and not fur!

but oh my sweetness - is she a black poodle???

I like it when she looks like a teddy bear too. She is a golden doodle. Her mom is a golden retriever and her dad is a chocolate standard poodle. So she gets the best of both breeds - altho she acts like a goofy poodle and is super smart but she's also chill like a retriever. Best dog ever. And she does not shed at all.

oh wow - a chocolate golden doodle! i need one! hehehehe

but please don't tell my family. they'll have it in writing and that will be the end of it. i need one of these though LOL i can't take another dog that sheds. ugh. they are stinky when you wash them lol

You have such an adorable dog, Deb 😊🐶

Yes, she is adorable and the sweetest personality. Ironically, a great watch dog - her bark goes right through you. Thanks Dan.:)

She's so cute, I can hardly imagine her barking at someone :) Haha

Nice photos of Abbey, but poor dear. I never like getting a haircut because they always take too much off! lol

me too!! I cut my own hair now. I do a better job :)

She's cute!

She is isn't she. But then, what dog isn't cute? Well, I can think of a couple but ... heh

I love dogs very much, I have lots of favorites here on Steemit. They can be so much fun 😉

You got a 1.47% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @countrygirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations, your post received 3.31% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

She is an ADORABLE dog! What kind of dog is she?

She is a goldendoodle :) A giant teddy bear who loves to hug.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49