Dead Rainbows

in #animalphotography7 years ago (edited)

0210181429.jpgI took this here picture at the end of a dead rainbow.

All the life and colors had washed away into the lake. The pot of gold was empty. The rainbow's fight was over, or so I thought. But, part of my soul died at the sight of it.

Such a glorious fish came to an inglorious end. But who'da known about this tragedy had I not cared to capture and immortalize its remaining beauty.

Oh, but if beauty is in the eye of the beholder, what is it you behold here, dear friend? Is it beauty or the disgusting sight of its dead corpse rotting in the mud with the worms and bacteria consuming its form into nothingness that penetrates your pupil and leaves an indellible impression in your memory?

Are you repulsed by it?

Its nothingness is substance now in your brain, is it not? Or is it just that my words have seared it all into a tenacious neuronal path for you to travel freakishly on occasion when you least expect?

As for me I say fish spirits go to heaven. I sure hope so anyway.

Did you know that in a parallel reality I caught this fish on my fly rod and fed my children with its pink flesh?

Did you know that YOU netted it and took a picture of me and the beautiful live fish and posted it to your blog on Steemit and made eight hundred dollars without the use of paid upvote bots? But you shared the SBD's with me.

In this alternate reality things are nicer. They already implemented SMTs and communities. Prior to their launch we didn't even know we lived in the same town at the end of the rainbow, even before all the colors washed away.

We didn't know we both loved fishing and hunting for pots of gold and hidden cryptographic tokens in the currents of local streams of conciousness.

But now we do know Mr. Doppelganger. Wake up, the dream is over.

Sort:  

This is excellent way of combining random thoughts into a post that pops in our mind. I do not pay attention to them and lose the chance to give it a creative life all the time. I wonder how did you manage to connect two different level of thoughts to our reality with so much of ease.

Thank you. I dunno, the subconcious mind is powerful, but doth it maketh cents? It mattereth not for the effort was fluidly effortless. You'll note that Mr. Doppelganger neither upvoted nor flagged.

Very elegant way to present you, The truth is in all your words.
It is possible to get many useful examples from your writing. well done and keep it up.

Dear @bbrewer it's my pleasure :)

Whoa! That took a turn. Who knew writing about a dead fish would invoke a parallel universe?

When you got into the alternate reality, I thought you might be talking to me! But, alas, it was only your other you.

I wonder, though. If I ran into another me, or multiple mes, would we be friends? Would we be enough alike that we would repulse, or would there be enough of a difference to bring us together?

I know I'd like to live in that world of a new and improved Steemit for a while.

Well, done. Entertaining, and an apt eulogy to a rainbow's end. :)

Haha. It's all jibberish until you look yourself in the metaphorical mirror.

To the metaphorical mirror! (clank)

Great article. Loved the concept of parallel universe. Yes i too hope that their souls too go to heaven.

Haha, thanks. It was a freewrite so whatever came out came out. Wanted to post the photo but didn't want to launch it solo.

Yes when you can write very well why launch it solo. Haha 😉

Wow such a impressive article . you got really a amazing skill for writing .
Great going , bless up @bbrewer

Sir, You always share the good content & hidden truth. Thank you so much for that. I never bored while i am reading your post. You know how to present a difficult subject in a simple & interesting way.

Dead fish are tough for sure.

I saw @glenalbrethsen's comment as I was starting to type, and I had the same reaction. "That took a turn"

It's sad to see such a beautiful animal dead. It wouldn't have been as powerful if you had left the color in it, so well-played.

I try to think of how it will nourish other creatures that need to live. There are so many creatures that fight to survive. One's loss is another's survival. It often is a zero-sum game, although not a game.

I remember splitting that SBD with you! Thanks for reminding me. I'm so generous. :D

Such a great post!! I like the tie in, I have had similar thoughts as its not uncommon to see trout float by after stocking. Admittedly when they are fresh ill sometimes take them to eat to find that an angler had gut hooked it, I have found trout with a few hooks in their stomachs at a time. In the small creeks and ponds here its hard to rely only on the wildlife as a cleanup crew, at least I think. I mean less carcasses rotting means less chance for other fish getting sick.

Thanks, if they are fresh enough no sense in having them go to waste!

very good presentation. thanks for post

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 08:17:49
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65