Dogs make great alarms

in #animal6 years ago

Max is a great alarm notifying me if something is going on outside. I remember a couple of years ago I got to where I did not pay attention to his barking. He kept barking at the side window in the other room and I told him to stop.

I found out later the SWAT team had been positioned outside my window. They are very quiet when carrying out their mission.

For clarification on who I am talking about when I write SWAT.

In the United States, a SWAT (Special Weapons and Tactics) team is a law enforcement unit which uses specialized or military equipment and tactics. This photo came with the definition.

hpsiushmde.jpg

I found out they had put their vehicle next to where I live to carry out their mission and Max was doing his job and letting me know.

Moments ago I hear his alarming bark at the same window. When I pull back the curtain there is a guy on a ladder standing just above my window.

Max is like I told you Mom. What are you going to do? I told you, I told you. Wolf!

I raise the window and ask, "Hey, guy what are you doing?"

Turns out he is with Spectrum Cable and is fixing my neighbor's cable. We are in a duplex.

I think it would be nice for companies to notify us if they plan to be on our property.

Once again Max is a great alarm.

I have read it is good to have a small dog and also children toys outside because burglars know they are both unpredictable.

Thank you for viewing ❤️
Live strong, Steem on!
@rebeccabe

This post was created by using #esteem by @good-karma.

ax5qb6lkhr.jpg

9vzbb3gd9i.png
xjoc77sdn4.png
lwg0ltrl5j.png

djvpypg9qk.jpg

Sort:  

They sure are the best alarms! Your Max is awesome
looking! We have a small dog that looks a lot like yours :-)

great . I believe ours is a mix. Both his parents are Rat Terriers but they are much bigger than Max. I found a dog online looks just like Max.
People tell me he looks like he has Chihuahua in him.. they call them Rat Cha ...
He is 10 pounds and 4 years old.
He likes to be held a lot.

Add "ultimate security system" to the long list of why dogs are amazing! : )

I know, right? They are I agree. Little dogs can make a difference too.

Good Max :)

When I was younger I'd come home from being out at the nightclubs all night. I'd shut off my motorcycle halfway down the street and coast silently into the driveway at 5A.M. As soon as I approached the door my parents dog would start barking no matter how quiet I was! That little dog always got me busted :))

I can just see that. You and your motorcycle sneaking home. They probably gave him a treat haha!

I agree, dogs are great at letting you know things you don't hear, and sometimes those things that you do hear...

You got that right lol

I have a French Bulldog Boston Terrier and she's an annoying little alarm but still useful as an alarm! You are right that smaller dogs are unpredictable as is mine! :)

lol how cute... love her already

After the SWAT experience i bet you pay more attention to Max's barking now ;)

that is true...haha!
I felt so stupid when I found out later what he had been barking at.

but if he barks a lot back then its understandable you wouldn't always react to it

right .. if he sees anyone going by on a bicycle or motorcycle or the post man.. oh boy

LOL I am thinking of getting a dog when I retire, a good excuse to get out for walks :) my wife is more keen on getting another cat time will tell

I did think that as I was writing the comment, if we got them at the same time they would get used to each other :)

that is true and you both would have your babies ..lol remember baby kittens and puppies are work.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

The dog at my home...sometimes around 11pm or 12am it'll start barking at other dogs in others' house, and the dogs will bark back, and it loops infinitely...the dogs are like communicating in their own language and all I know was my mum was busy shouting "KEEP QUIET" at the window because she couldn't sleep with all those noise lmao.

But still it's a very cool alarm system! Though sometimes malfunctions but it's cool overall. Plus, you don't get any other alarms that can be hugged or rubbed or licks you back <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80