Daydreaming about my endeavors

in #anhouraday6 years ago (edited)

avainnippu.JPG

Today was a great day at "work": I did basically nothing and that one triggering person is off to a 5-week summer holiday. I also have some unused holidays (9 days) before my service ends. I still haven't decided when to keep them, but I have to put them on occasions when the standing janitor himself isn't on his holiday.

It wasn't completely wasted though: I looked up for some gear for my upcoming 'great freedom experiment', as I might end up calling it. I've put up a list of all the things I'm going to need for the biking trip which I'm slowly starting to acquire. The biggest "if" is still the bike; whether I'm going to take my old one to maintenance for attaching the rack fully in and adjusting the gears/chains, or purchase a new one. Even though it has only 3 gears, it doesn't bother me too much – or maybe it will after climbing mountains with it, but right now I'm feeling arrogant enough for me managing with it. Sure, more gears would make it bit easier, but comfortableness comes with a cost of hundreds of euros in a form of new bike, and I don't think I'm ready to leave my good old one when it's still kicking strong and rolling well. I'm anticipating it could be overhauled to a good traveling condition with 100-200€ – which would still be much cheaper than a new one that also would eventually need overhaul along the journey if I end up going for a long distance, but this is still all just speculation as I will have a better idea when I'll go to a biking store for some advice.

Oh, I got distracted by looking up the gear. (I was supposed to create content for solid hour.) Oh well, might as well show what I discovered: this stove that enables cooking as long as you have something to burn – neat! I already thought that carrying gas or fuel powered cooking solutions sounds clunky, and going with raw food only would be too difficult and uncomfortable – even for me (warm food/drink is a must in autumn). So, that goes to my purchase list for sure.

I've been just binging all kind of camping content on YouTube and blogs online that could provide useful information for my endeavors. That's why today's #anhouraday was left little less thoughtful as all I can really think now is the preparation of my trip – and no wonder as I'll be leaving home completely for an extended period of time still unknown to me.

Anyway, see you again tomorrow, now I'm going to watch videos on how to fold a tarp.

Sort:  

Personally, I recommend buying a new proper bike. When you think about how expensive it is to buy a car and get a driving license, buying a bike seems almost free. (I feel like this because I got a 1850€ bill from my driving school today)

Since you'll be going on a long trip it would be nice to own a good bike. Your ride will be faster, more comfortable and you don't have to worry about your bike breaking just as much as with an old bike. 500 euros is a very small amount of money in the end.

Well if 500€ gets a good bike, it might be best to do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95