TacoCat’s Travels (Finland) #10: Fun at Angery Bird Park!

in #angrybird6 years ago (edited)


2 April 2018. Wednesday.

It was a pretty chill day (hehe see what I did there) In Rovaniemi today. We didn't really have any plans since we were still pretty tired from our trip the day before so we decided to just relax and explore the nearby area.

We got up pretty late, so our first stop was to get lunch! We were pretty hungry and decided to try this Turkish restaurant in the main part of the city. Unfortunately, I didnt get a picture of the actual restaurant but it's in Lordi's Square just opposite the tour agency offices.


The Turkish restaurant had their usual kebab meat, with 3 sides: wedges/fries, rice and salad all for just €8.50!


It was really quite a big portion but the 2 of us managed to finish it. It was really delicious! 😋


My happy face whenever there's food in front of me

After that very satisfying lunch, we decided to take a walk to a nearby landmark: the Angry Bird Park! We're not really fans of Angry Birds, but it's free and nearby so why not check it out?


The ground was still covered in snow so there weren't a lot of people around. When we went there it was practically deserted. I had the feeling the park was mainly built for kids though, but we just had a look around.


There was a small soccer field within the park that I'm guessing would be more popular during the summertime


A few kids and their parents came by to play on the slides and stuff


Giant slingshot! Ready, FIRE!


There was also a mini firefox kinda ride! It was kinda slippery but I decided to give it a shot!


Weeeee look at me go!

Unfortunately I don't have a video of me swinging, but there is some serious whiplash at the end.


There was also a very creaky swing set. In the largely silent park the squeaking was pretty deafening so I didnt swing for long.

I think that's another thing I kinda miss about Finland. The quiet. Even outside, there aren't that many cars or traffic around (except within Helsinki) that all you really hear when you're outside is the crunching of snow/leaves beneath your boots. I really felt attuned with nature there and I could enjoy the peace and quiet in a small town that you just don't get in Singapore.


I tried playing inside the jungle gym but I kinda overestimated my size and bumped my head a few times. Woops. 🤕

Anyway, after we were done at the park, we took a walk to find more landmarks and happened upon a nice quaint church. It had a simple exterior but the interior was pretty nice. It was also getting kinda cold outside so we decided to seek refuge in the church for a bit.



What we didn't realise was there was actually a service going on. Woops! I hurriedly snapped this photo and closed the door so as to not interrupt. I guess we should've figured there was a service since there were quite a few cars parked outside the church. But then again, it was a Wednesday, so I was quite surprised.

Anyway, after that we made our way back for a nice home-cooked dinner. What a relaxing day. 😊

Thanks for reading!


To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.vornix.blog/2018/09/21/tacocats-travels-finland-10-fun-at-angery-bird-park/

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 66.498596 lat 25.733102 long d3scr)

Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat’s Travels (Finland) #9: Christmas in April.?

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=taco.cat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tacocatstravelsfinland10funatangerybirdpark-b3ueh4q6av


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92