Weekly Advice for Day to Day Life #2 - Don't Become Enslaved by "The Cause"

in #ancap7 years ago

(Note: Sorry for not posting these regularly, but I've been busy attending to other obligations. I will continue posting these Weekly Advice articles as regularly as humanly possible.)

There's a lesson I've reminded myself of that I've struggled off and on with in grasping. I would consider myself to be an emotionally-sensitive person and I tend to take some things a little closer to heart than others would. This is something I've embraced and have even prided myself in, at times, because it allows me to reflect on my thoughts and come to a better understanding of why I feel the way I do.

However, the downside of it becomes apparent when fighting "the good fight" for Anarcho-Capitalism while going up against trolls or people that disagree with my argument. I've tempered my arguments to the point where I can easily retort with sound arguments while burying the frustration and anger that can come up, but sometimes it can be difficult to do.

I push myself to keep arguing and to make my positions and objections known to whoever I'm debating, but after a while they might devolve into ad hominem attacks and red herrings. This is the point to which I have to pull myself away from the conversation and know that, because they resorted to that I "won" that debate. Even though it's nice to have a clean, civil conclusion to a debate, I know that some people will let their egos take control of what they do and there won't be the opportunity for concession without an ego being bruised.

When things get to that point of visceral responses, I try to remind myself that "the cause" isn't all that there is to life. Although debating people and sharing my opinions is important in furthering Anarcho-Capitalism, I have to remember that the fate of a future Voluntarist society doesn't hinge on one debate or a couple of debates. It's important to learn when to bow-out and focus on more important topics that I can bring up my opinions on.

Hell, sometimes the best thing I or anyone else can do to help things is to step away from it for a minute. I'll take the time out to do some work, do some chores around the house, play with my pets, talk to my girlfriend, or just have some fun. Doing those things can be more effective in strengthening my resolve and helping me see things from a different perspective than simply having a war of words.

So, even though it may seem silly or common knowledge, I challenge you to take the time to read a book, do that "one thing" around the house that you've been meaning to do, or just go out and have a good time whenever you get flustered in debating people. Even if you don't have some epiphany about AnCap philosophy, you'll be getting some much needed relaxation and time to reset so that you can get back in the game at your best.

Sort:  

Great advice, when I get stuck with the feeling that my ambitions are too enormous, I just change focus back to the little things and pick one small good action to take, and the positive chain reaction occurs from there. Followed here and on minds, great writing.

That's usually the best way to go about it! Letting the "big picture" overwhelm you and get in the way of accomplishing the "little things" that help you reach your goals is what causes people to get burnt out. Moderating what you do and time management is important in life, which is no different when you're advocating for a cause. Thank you very much for reading the article and I'll be sure to follow you back both on here and Minds.com, if I haven't already!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65