Grow plants, Be an Anarchist, Save the World

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

Why are you not growing plants? If your super busy being productive and truly don't have time, then maybe it makes sense to depend completely on others for everything that you put in your body. If only as an experiment, try growing a particular type of fruit or vegetable that you like or flowers or herbs or anything at all, but grow some plants. If nothing else, do it for Anarchy

100 years ago, your ancestors most likely grew some plants. Since then, big agriculture has centralized most of the small farms that used to exist into huge corporate farms. Today, there is a movement back towards a more decentralized production of our food in many places. Local, organic, products are becoming more and more available as more and more farmers markets seem to keep popping up. Cooperatives are growing in number as well as many businesses that support this movement. As technological innovations continue to further connect small time produces to local markets, there is ample opportunity to turn your gardening hobby or your free time into a profitable enterprise.

For me, growing plants has always been an interest. But in the last few years, I have become more interested in gardening as I have seen how easily I can provide myself with delicious fruits, vegetables, herbs, flowers, medicinal plants. As I have been finding and supporting more local products, I have seen how many others are beginning to get involved in this movement. As an anarchist, I support local production and consumption, because I see how it can be freeing from large centralized organizations that have grown out of control with policies and practices that are focused solely on profit and have no concern for the well-being of the local consumer or the environment.

Big Ag companies like Monsanto are a perfect example of what I'm talking about. These huge organizations are getting too far away from natural sustainable practices. Thats exactly why there is a movement towards decentralization. It is simply not sustainable to continue the trend of centralizing food production. I see it as an opportunity to protect yourself from unsustainable systems that inevetibly must change or collapse and to profit while you do it!

Right now, it has never been easier to take advantage of all the technological advantages that can allow anyone to grow some plants anywhere. Grow plants hydropically, In pots, on your porch, in your house by a window, or with indoor plant lights or small DIY greenhouse, you would be amazed at what can be produced in a small place with a little enthusiasm for learning about what your plants need to be healthy.

Growing plants is not only a fun hobby, but also a way to be self sufficient and even a way to spread the wealth. Personally, I don't side with either ancaps or ancoms, I side with both of them. I believe in being self sufficient and in spreading my wealth around, but not because I am being forced to by a government ruler! So, grow some plants, be an anarchist, and save the world.

I am new to steemit. I have followed Jeff Berwick and Luke Rudkowski for a while now and when I saw them get on steemit, I decided to give a try. I am excited to be writing again for the first time in years as there seems to be a community here that I share many ideas with. I have seen some incredibly simple posts make it to the top here so I thought I would just drop some ideas, that I thought were worth spreading. I don't think I'm nearly as interesting as Jeff's financial analysis and psychadellic writing or Luke's occult writing, but I know some things about plants! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I couldn't agree with you more that we should all try to be more self-sufficient. I would also add that we know best what our own families like and need, and are more in touch with what's needed in our communities as well. Different communities have different needs. We can have access to better quality food, trade with others in our communities, and connect with our neighbors in the process. Food freedom is a beautiful thing!

I grew so many plants, I feel like a true farmer, but gotta grow them in my closet... ;)

Additionally, don't just grow plants. Unless you're vegan, you probably eat more than just plants. Try out aquaponics. Raise tilapia, which are a medium sized fish, very good for farming due to their hardy nature and tolerance of crowded conditions. Feed the dirty fish water to the plants, and watch them love it. It's doable on a huge farm scale, or even in a small closet in an urban apartment.

Agreed! I thought about mentioning aquaponics. Definitely, an awesome sustainable and fun DIY project!

Luke Rudkowski has to be one of the fairest journalists in media

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59