You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Prohibition Increase Violence or Improve Wellbeing?

in #anarchy7 years ago

I'd argue it's the default because it's all people know innately. It's part of our primitive animal nature. That said, if it doesn't get us the results we want, we may use other options because we are an adaptive species. The link in my last comment has about 30 minutes worth of videos on NVC you might find quite interesting. The inevitable resolution you mention will be violent without communication, I agree, but the world is more connected and humans are communicating orders of magnitude faster than at any other time in our existence. I'm hopeful we can change and I use evidence of the change we've already made to encourage me about the future. Reading books like The Better Angels of our Nature or watching videos like this give me optimism:

If we don't work to build consensus on ethics for conflict resolution, violence is the fallback

And yes, I agree. That's why I've posted a bit about morality quite a bit on Steemit here, here, and here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.21
ETH 2441.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68