You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Prohibition Increase Violence or Improve Wellbeing?

in #anarchy7 years ago

Ah, finally! One of my favorite books explaining what we currently know about the human mind. You've recommend books to me I've fully enjoyed. I'm glad you're getting to one of my recommendations. :)

they don't have to both be true

I guess I fail to see enough examples where they aren't, eventually. Take the United States as an example. One of the first (only?) nation states to start close to a minarchy. Where did it up end? The largest and most powerful army the world has ever known, building an empire, but doing so with control of the world reserve currency. Eventually, over time, centralized hierarchy systems of power become corrupted. At least, that's what we've seen so far.

If that ends, what we'll have probably won't be called government, by my standards. It'll be closer to voluntaryism, I think.

Sort:  

I agree it would be something new.

I might pick up Black Swan also since I heard you mention it and it was referenced in the TFAS book. I've got 14 credits on audible so let me know what you'd recommend. I just finished How the Mind Works by Pinker and then heard he's got a new book coming out and is going to do a show with Sam Harris in Los Angeles.... road trip?

Hah! That would be quite a road trip. 14 credits?!? Dang man. I need to change my subscription because I feel like I'm always waiting for the next credit. I'll check my wish list at some point and see what I have in there to recommend. Almost done with Black Swan and definitely enjoying it.

Hey... road trip would be interesting. I think I'll just wait for it to hit YouTube though. :)

I switched to the 24 credit membership, all at once, in May.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37