You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Confused by the Word "Anarchy"?

in #anarchy5 years ago

I see a couple assumptions here:

cohabitation can't happen if there are no contracts between people to sustain peace and safety.

Depending on where people are on Maslow's Hierarchy, I think they can live together. I do agree that contracts actually help people do that better. I do not think the social "contract" is a contract, for the reasons I outlined above. I prefer actual, voluntary contracts.

that will naturally arise because of human nature.

This is a big assumption I see often. People take their personal experience of the dataset they prefer and project it into something vague and collective known as "human nature." What if I perceive human nature as wanting to meet the needs of others as NVC describes? What if humans are actually good to each other and only a select few (who we keep giving authoritarian power to) want to harm others?

All that said, I did very much appreciate the video. Thanks for sharing. I think fear and other negative modes of emotional thinking drive a lot of this and as humans have less to fear from each other, these drives and concerns go away related to power and domination. Previous systems rewarded the powerful. There is no guarantee the systems of the future will do the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49