Today’s Adventure: Building a bee hive with hand tools and scrap wood.

in #anarchy6 years ago

8C59207A-1A66-403E-AD01-CFCE0219599D.jpeg


Was up ‘til 3 AM last night watching videos on beehives.

I must have reviewed at least 30 or 40 different plans, and all were pretty complicated (I’m certainly no pro when it comes to woodworking, and a missing some pretty critical tools). After seeing @nicksikorski’s active beehive at his farm in Nagano, though, I was inspired, and determined to push through and get one built.

I finally stumbled across the Homesteadonomics YouTube channel

and that was exactly what I needed. The dude had uploaded a video entitled “Junky Beehives,” or something like that, and was explaining how he had made four top-bar style hives using scrap wood and for a very low budget. As the landlord here at the KafkA shack has left tons of junk, wood, and scrap materials around, I thought I would build my own!

I WANT SOME HONEY!!


7D96939A-D676-4506-8C5F-541413C1B39D.jpeg


The hive pictured above is called a “top bar” hive because the bees will build their honeycombs on slats that will cross the box perpendicular to the walls (the slats are not yet inserted in this picture). This type of hive has been in use for thousands of years, and is said to have originated in Africa. What I liked about the design is that one can harvest honey without disturbing the bees too much. It’s more of the natural route when it comes to beekeeping.

What’s next?


A5B95634-10CC-4B22-8E09-9813336743DC.jpeg


Well, tomorrow I’ve got to finish the slats/bars, run some flames around the inside to kill any bacteria/pests/diseases, and then once the whole thing is dry and good to go, smear a bit of local honey around on the inside and cross my fingers.

Hopefully we’ll get a good swarm of Japanese honeybees and have a good, productive year!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

thanks bro. I was thinking a beehive can't be that difficult. bees have been around for millions of years and they managed without us, the naked apes :D

I keep learning how to build, rebuild and what have you in the middle of nowhere. Check it out:
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@lostambores/0ww7tj5t

building first beebox tomorrow. need a few more after that. off-grid living is easy ;)

Followed! Thanks for the heads-up about your blog!

And yes, you’re right about the bees!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I love when folks make their own stuffs and especially those that share it on YouTube as it helps so much. Even un nature type stuff like KODI builds, but especially common use for life builds like this one. Thanks.

Yeah, those vids are great resources, hey!

Interesting project. Hopefully the bees will come over and live in it. But, don't you need to put a queen bee in there so the other types of bees will be attracted. Anyways I don't know how it all works, keep us updated on how it goes :)

If I’m lucky I’ll be able to attract a swarm, and get them to set up shop inside. The queen must be there for sure. Some people do order the starter “nuclei,” but I’m aiming for what @nicksikorski accomplished, luring a wild swarm into his own hive.

wow made so nice here we made it in square shape.

omg this challenge is awesome! I am so excited to see how it will go! I wish I could see how you made the box!

Thanks! I just made a new post and short video about the box!

Man, what is it with you and flying insect thingies lately? Ha.

That's a cool build, may have to try that design.

Haha. I dunno man. I’m obsessed.

Weirddddd 😂😂😂. I'll have some honey though

That’s what they all say! No honey without the weird! ;)

Congratulations friend, hopefully many bees flock. and be careful on bee stings because it is very sick

Finally after fifteen years of this lady two doors down having her lawn professionally sprayed for insects, to which I blame for the decline of bees, she moved. Last year I followed some tips on planting flowers that attract the most bees and placing a shallow dish with some flat rocks so they can land on the rocks then drink the water, it went really well. We had one set of bees build a hive on top of a pillar on the front porch. We decided to leave it there and have conversations with the grand kids about how important they are and if you leave them alone they'll just be busy being bees.

Nice. We've been homesteading on our property for 8 years and this year, with all the rain and gardening we've been doing (over the years) we have so many flying bugs, that I don't think I need bees for pollination. I was going to start a bee hive to help, but do you know if other flyers pollinate too, i.e. wasps, yellow jacket, love bugs, dragon flies, black house flies, etc. o?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65682.90
ETH 3579.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51