Stealth Gardening 3....snackables

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

20180718_080903.jpg

I want to show how I quickly process a cactus pad. This is a type that has few thorn nubs, and only takes a minute or so to prepare for a snack.

Usually this is done outside and just free handed without a table. I like to pick new growth pads as you can see the nubs are packed inside a little green covering and aren't exposed. (wash the pads if your inclined too)

First I cut around the outside of the pad:

20180718_081136.jpg

Then I cut the nubs off (making sure to get all the nub):

20180718_081211.jpg

One side complete, as you can see there are only 6 or 7 nubs per side, flip it over and do the other side when done:

20180718_081349.jpg

That's it, a fresh snackable, also easily done while walking around the yard.

(note: this type of cactus freezes easily in winter, so you may have to find a type that fits your climate, try to find one that has the green covering over the nubs on new pads, it helps to keep thorns out of your fingers)

Happy plantings!

Sort:  

These also make good poultices , I will keep the green covers in mind. :)

Nice of you to educate us

I am happy to share.

Every day you learn something new, I liked this post friend.

Thanks, i am glad you liked it.

This is definitely something I should try. :-) Maybe it's difficult to grow a cactus outside from where I live (Belgium). Do you have any suggestions on that? How does it actually taste? Thank you for your quality guide.

They taste like a green apple but not sweet. Mostly tart flavor.

Belgium latitude, only a few types will grow.

https://www.southdakotamagazine.com/joys-of-cactus

In Spain they are called la chumbera, or nopals.

Maybe a plant nursery will have some in your area.

I like the bitter taste of green apples so it is something for me :-) I will get some information on that in place not far from my home. Thank you and keep spreading good knowledge.

Congratulations @joesal! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82