Introduction - New to Steemit ; Arriving at Anarchy

in #anarchy8 years ago

Hi, I'm Michael Doucet. 


This is my first time on Steemit and I love the concept. Who wouldn't like to blog and make some dough? So I'd like to thank the creators and am hopeful that we'll witness continued momentum. 


I'll start off by telling you that I am not a writer. Because I am not a writer, I'm prone to making grammatical errors and any constructive criticism is appreciated. And if you could care less about grammar and just really despise what I say, feel free to give me any kind of criticism you have! And if you like what I have to say, leave a comment and upvote! The purpose of my being here is to promote my beliefs and to add to the force of those who believe just as I do. 

Posting on Facebook and debating (if that's what you want to call it) there is something I've done for years. I think it's a great place to exchange ideas and to spread information but Steemit's platform just seems like a no-brainer in comparison.  Facebook is still a great platform and it's where a majority of my transformation on politics and philosophy took place and where great information continues to be shared.....for now. 


What I Am About

I am just someone who has opinions and ideas on how we should treat each other, our interactions in society/economies, and our need for a revolution of the mind; a mass shift in understanding our roles relative to government and why political authority is a waste of anyone's time. 


Gaining understanding 


Approximately 10 years was the amount of time it took to go from a morally misguided (borderline destitute), pro-war Conservative to an anarchist/voluntarist. It wasn't easy for me or for my cortisol  levels. I ignorantly defended positions that didn't make any reasonable or rational sense when compared to an individual level. I threw pseudo-intellectual tantrums 

when people challenged me with their evil "liberal" arguments (see how addicted I was to the State's two-party prescription?) that inevitably resulted in me asking myself those difficult questions that lead to deeper understanding. It's been a bumpy ride up to now and it's beginning to smooth out but I continue to learn. Only now I have a little voice telling me I should be sharing what I know and what I think. Voice of reason, maybe? 


Coming out


This is the first time I'm stepping out of the shadows of Facebook pages and outside of my comfort zone and putting myself out there. I work a full-time job and I'm in the middle of getting a side business started but I began feeling a push towards posting content, so here I am! Thanks for reading And I hope to get some content out there soon!

Sort:  

Welcome, that's a great introduction. I really feel as if you shared who you really are, very open and honest. I think you are going to give us some great material. I think I am going to follow you.

Holy badass username. Now I'm jealous, yours is clearly better than mine. LOL.

Ok, but in all seriousness here, that was a great introduction for someone who is "not a writer".

No writer who develops his/her own voice follows any one set of grammatical rules flawlessly.

The natural writer wants to convey a certain ebb and flow, vibe or tone, and rigid linguistic formatting tends to kill the buzz for many (though perhaps not everyone).

I want you to know how much I was reading my past self in your words.
I was once right where you are--not very practiced at my writing (though I had a knack for it always, and I think you may as well), and totally new to putting my voice out there. I was nervous, it was outside my comfort zone, and I had no idea where it would lead.

But I was a new anarchist, who had been convicted that I did not want to remain quiet, keep my head down, and shut up... when so many people still supported evil unwittingly.

So I just put one foot in front of the other. That is all you're doing here. Try not to have specific expectations of how anything will turn out, just enjoy each moment, write from the heart, and have a general sense of gratitude and positive expectation that if you stay just outside your comfort zone--magic happens.

It's an uncomfortable truth, necessarily. ;)

Thanks! That's EXACTLY the kind of feedback I was hoping to get. Sometimes I overthink and overcomplicate things and it gets in the way of who I am or the message I'm trying to convey and it's good to be reminded of that. I think I may have been taking myself a little too serious in the realm of grammar and you realized it and pointed it out. But it's always relieving when someone tells you they've been exactly where you're at. There aren't too many out there who share anarchist views so it can feel a little desolate at times BUT that's changing everyday. Thank you so much for the thoughtful comment and taking the time.

And I'm glad you like the username! But I have to say, yours is pretty gnarly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35