STATELESS: A major documentary on anarchy. 💛🎬🖤

in #anarchy6 years ago

stateless.jpg


Two and a half years ago I came to Acapulco to attend
an incredible conference on anarchy, Anarchapulco.

Even though I had a good life, with good people in it...
... even though I didn't know a soul in this movement, online or offline...
and even though I hadn't planned to...

I stayed.

As you can imagine, that abrupt decision
caused a lot of relational and material loss.

But it also caused a lot of inner strength and freedom.

That's what makes tough decisions, tough...
choosing between your left, or right eye. Impossible.

Each anarchist expat living here has their own unique
story about why and how they came to be/stay here.

We are unstructured and loosely knit.
We differ from the lives we left, and also from each other.
Many of us have been here for two or three years full-time...
adjusting and evolving, together-ish.

Filmmaker and director, Todd Schramke, took an interest
in the expat community that organically formed here,
and continues to grow. He's inspired to show our stories,
and I think it's an important thing to do because:

(1) It can correct the wrong perception that many have of anarchists. Most people would be pleasantly surprised to learn that the bombs we throw are philosophical, and the strategies we use are based in logic, reason, and empathy. Similar to cannabis, anarchy is a great means, that got a distorted reputation along the way. Similar to cannabis, anarchy is a liberating tool that some resist, purely because of disinformation. Stateless will counter that persistent ignorance.

(2) It can show the (incremental) feasibility of a rulerless life. It seems impossible, until you see others doing it. Seeing Jeff Berwick and Angel Clark on YouTube inspired me. This documentary will inspire others. And those others will then inspire someone from their circles. And on and on, until -- gradually -- demonstrated examples of reclaimed lives will gain more momentum and influence, than FUD. Stateless will encourage that ripple effect.

(3) It can extend the message of self-rulership, self-ownership, liberty, and sovereignty BEYOND the circles that already get it. Holding ideals that flow against the dominant mainstream is an ongoing tension all freethinkers live with. It makes it easy, and tempting, to create silos and homogenous clubs that inadvertently exclude the very same blocked people who could most benefit from seeing alternative ways of living. Stateless will bridge that communication gap.

Funding is needed for project completion.
Jeff is supporting the documentary with a contribution,
and with the interview below, to create more exposure for Stateless.

Would you please take a moment to watch, and share it?
Thank you.

Sort:  

Resteemed and contributed. Can’t wait to see the finished film!

Your supportiveness amazes me, @stillwatersart. Thanks, with all my heart, kind friend. 😘

Can't wait to see the docu @erikaharris!!! Love ya girl! I'll pop on by in August or September!

Thanks, @bryanj4! Love ya back, and excited to see you :-)

That sounds really interesting, I already heard a tiny bit about this conference, but am sure that I know only a fraction of what it is all about. I will save the video you've posted for this evening and am already curious about the documentary 😉

@rawadventuress, you would meet so many amazing people at the conferences (Anarchapulco and Anarchaforko). Hope to see/meet you in February 2019! And thanks for your interest in the documentary. It's time.

I am excited to see this and eager to help distribute it!

Resteemed to 3000+

Posted using Partiko Android

Woohoo! Thanks for your awesome support, @aaronsuncamacho. We really appreciate it.

I have to watch this when I get back from the post office this evening. Yes I like to go to the post office when no one else is there.

Ha! Well, that's two of us, @stokjockey... *said the chick who grocery shops at 2am!"

I am awake right now only because I went to sleep earlier at about 8 pm. Nobody that keeps a regular time schedule understands me. I have always felt like I don't belong in with the daily society. That's not a bad thing it just means you are alone and different in a Good Way.

I'll show up to any screenings in Los Angeles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05