You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zombie Allegiance to the Flag of the UNITED STATES of AMERICA ... A Sobering Look at a Pet Statist Ritual

in #anarchy8 years ago

I watched this video and follow you on youtube.
It is a great subject and i have a personal story to go along with it.
When i was in 8th grade, i started to do as my father taught me and question everything, including the "Pledge." One day i decided that i would not participate anymore. I believe i stood up and when everyone started to recite, i stood silent with my arms by my side. My teacher looked at me, but said nothing (i wish i knew what she was thinking, oh man, i wish she could see me know -> i just finished my doctorate).
I heard nothing of the matter all day long, she didnt say a word to me.
Later, after school i went to the movies with a few of my girlfriends. We were in the middle of the film when my sister walked into the theatre and told me we had to leave now, dad was in the car waiting and he was furious. I was very angry and left in a huff, i had no idea why i was being punished. As i got in the car my dad started to yell at me, nothing new, i was becoming very rebelious around that time. I asked what i did and he told me that my teacher called him at work ant told him that i was being insubordinate. He had to leave work early to come and pick me up.
Then I asked him, now very angry. "Did she tell you what I did?!"
He said it didn't matter, i need to learn to behave.
Thin i said, "I didn't recite the fucking pledge of allegiance!"
The car got quiet, he said sorry (this was huge, apologies never came as a single word back then, they were always followed with a "but").

Sort:  

This story should give a little insight into the dogma of statism. It is such a horrendous deed to not engage the system that all those around the "problem" must be punished as well. My father lost wages to discipline his unruly child that chose not to submit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49