V is for Voluntary & Taxation is Theft

in #anarchy8 years ago

Hello fellow Steemers, behold this is my introduction to the Steem world! My name is Daly Miskowiec and I am from Minneapolis, MN but I just recently moved out to Arizona for the sunshine. I am most passionate about extreme sports, beach volleyball, anarcho-capitalism, and entrepreneurship.

My road to anarcho-capitalism started about 7 years ago. A friend of mine recommended I read the book Atlas Shrugged, which at over 1,000 pages was no easy feat for a guy who rarely read anything besides textbooks in college. This book opened my eyes and I saw my beliefs starting to align closely with the Libertarian party, this of course led to me becoming a huge fan of Ron Paul. At this time, my cousin recommended I check out podcasts from this guy called Stefan Molyneux. So there I was, flying through podcast after podcast on freedomainradio.com, I couldn't get enough. As I continued, my beliefs started shifting from libertarian/minarchist to anarcho-capitalist.

Then it happened, through these podcasts I was introduced to the NAP (Non-Aggression Principle) and my whole world change. Now every belief and opinion I had was rooted in something, I could now always use NAP as a reference to determine what the moral option would be. It didn't take long after that for me to realize that governments are inherently immoral and taxation is theft.

Feel free to leave my a line and tell me your story, I'm always curious about the roads people take to get to the ideologies they strongly believe in.

Sort:  

Welcome! Your experience and transformation sounds a lot like mine. : ) I think if I had to pin a particular moment in time for myself of where it all started, It would have to be around the time I read Atlas Shrugged. Although I think underneath it all, I've always been an anarchist. It wasn't until after much reading, study, and experience that I fully realized it and could articulate exactly where I stand and why. Thanks for sharing.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.1 and reading ease of 60%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53