You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What "Government" Does Best

in #anarchy6 years ago

It is still hard to throw off the thoughts that the police are here to protect me. Even though I have never seen that happen, and I have personally, or indirectly seen the abuses of police power.

I have been taught to believe in a system.
Its like I have been taught that geese lay golden eggs, when what really comes out of that hole is shit and more shit. And logically there is nothing else that a govern-cement can do. Even with the best intentions and the best people in charge.

Oh how I have been hoodwinked!

Sort:  

Hey, you've almost certainly seen cops being brave heroes..... on TV. There's a reason they call it "programming."

Yeah just look at all the police programming done in tv. Probably half are cop shows. All the csi shows, cops, judge shows, “investigative” journalists shows featuring former attorneys, not to mention all the news media showing interviewing po pos or praising their “sacrifice” because without police we’d all be cannibals eating eAch other and putting human bones through our noses.

Not my childhood!
I loved CHiPS!

And Adam 12.
I even sorta like the few shows I saw of Miami Vice.

Now, I know so much truth, that I can't watch CSI without wanting to break the TV.
Still, I can't let the "Cops are brave heroes" lie go.

The only reason I haven't gone full "Ban all police officers" is that the still clean up the messes we make on roads. Although I think I could do better with a combination ambulance / tow truck with a killer grabber arm.

Not only could you do a better job, but plenty of people--including me--would VOLUNTARILY pay you to do that, without you having to violently extort us. (And yeah, I liked lots of shows about brave cops too. And movies with dinosaurs in them. Now I think those are equally unlikely to happen in the real world ... but dinosaurs are more likely.)

There are many instances in which the police might actually protect you, even in the real world. Since the means to protect yourself is outlawed in many places you may not have any choice other than to ask for their protection. This reality doesn't legitimize their 'authority'. The 'authorities' imposed this 'solution' in first instance.

I should reiterate, that i have never experienced the police helping me, and I have been seriously injured by the police. My personal experience.

My friends personal experience... cops have been friendly while writing a ticket is about the best. Other of my friends... well, they are now dead.

And, no person, body or govern-cement has the right to keep you from protecting yourself. But, they may punish and/or fine you for doing so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20