Anarchists, If You Get Called to Jury Duty, Here's What to Do

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

GO!

Chances are you don't want to go. You don't consent to the system's authority to put people in jail, and you probably disagree with the law that's at the heart of the reason why the trial exists in the first place. But you have the opportunity to put your Anarchist values to work and save someone's life.

One of the most influential experiences in my life was watching a friend of mine, Todd Stimson, who's a cannabis activist, go through trial and ultimately be sent to prison.

I watched in horror as the potential jurors were questioned for selection and several stated that they wouldn't be able to serve because of their beliefs about the illegality of cannabis. They could have saved my friend's life.

Though his lawyer had a very compelling and even heart wrenching case and all the physical evidence was completely gone because law enforcement failed to follow proper protocol to preserve it, the judge and the prosecutors knew exactly what to do to see that my friend was prosecuted.

If you're called for jury duty for a nonviolent crime, GO! Show up! Show up looking like a square, and when your turn comes, lie. Give them your best All-American, Christian soccer mom or dad impression.

Prepare to be bullied and lied to. In the trial of my friend, the judge flat out told the jury that they MUST NOT vote their conscience. They MUST NOT vote according to whether they think my friend belonged in jail. They were ordered that if the prosecution proved that my friend did in fact possess cannabis, that they MUST vote guilty. The prosecution railroaded them and knew exactly what body language and wording to use to intimidate them. Stay strong! Study your "rights" as a juror!


Image from fija.org

Help save a life. Go to jury duty.

Sort:  

I was arrested last Memorial Day weekend, because a Forest Service ranger said I crossed the white line. I got a jury trial coming up in just over a month!

Good luck, my friend!

Before I considered myself an "Anarchist..."
...actually, before I considered myself to have any political affiliation, title, or label at all, I was still an individualistic free-thinker. I just didn't know so many people thought like I did. I was summoned to jury duty, I went, and I -wanted- to try my hand at it. I had no intention of being bullied or pushed into anything by anyone, by pressure or otherwise. (It helped that it gave me a free-pass out of work, but the hour drive sucked) I never had the chance, not because I was dismissed personally, but because it never went to trial.

Summon me again, statists, I dare you. ;)

Excellent article, stay strong brothers/sisters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42