You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Killer Robots: Artificial Intelligence and Human Extinction

in #anarchism8 years ago

Intelligent machines equaling or surpassing humanity will not be created until what we have is already understood. As intelligence isn't defined, don't expect me to hold my breath.

The chess example is a poor one. This is a matter of rote memorization and not intelligence per se. It's been shown that low IQ people can become proficient at chess, thus discounting it as a measure of intelligence.

The advancement of neuroscience and mores law doesn't necessarily correlate to reproduction of a working intelligent machine.

Define intelligence and I'll be impressed. Until then, this is just another flying car.

Sort:  

Good point. AI may not happen for a long time, but it is still worth discussing given the impact that it will have.

"Define intelligence and I'll be impressed."

Your right, it is extremely hard to define intelligence (both philosophically and practically). I can't do this. Yet, I truthfully don't think it matters. Yes I am using the word artificial intelligence. Please disregard this. What we are talking about are machines that can do more and more things. In fact, machines that can do things that we can't do. Whether they are intelligent or just relying on code, this doesn't seem to make a difference. Either one will impact humanity the same because I am ONLY focusing on outcomes. Let me know if that made sense

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67