You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anarchism: The Best Thing I've Tried Yet-- Decentralized Authority

in #anarchism7 years ago (edited)

I remember my great-grandparents and their generation, and none of them seemed to expect much of anything from anyone outside their community. The government was a thing far away. (They also had the benefit of a non-US Govt controlled school.)

When I was young I thought this simply provincial, maybe even backwards. And now as I approach 60 years walking this planet I find that I am more like them than I ever expected.

I too had a journey through the various levels of bullicus shitticus that had been carefully laid out for me to find. I used to participate heavily in the 'political process' - now I refuse to even vote. I was fairly vocal about it for a few years, but it became obvious to me that the people just don't care enough to learn.

So I too eventually reach the place you mention above - I realize that to see the world a better place I have to get busy making it a better place. Words will not bring it into being when no one listens - we have to create it. Our success is not guaranteed - it is necessary.

Sort:  

I like to think that such a community element of self-sufficiency is still dormant in humanity, and it does show up when there are emergencies, when we see strangers helping one another in ways that show that a voluntary society is what we live in already, and it has just withstood a full on occupation and mental invasion by a State.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82