Christian Anarchist, Not a Contradiction

in #anarchism8 years ago


 

Christianity is a very controversial topic among the Anarchy Movement. Many consider the worship of a God, no different than that of the state. This is actually a common misconception of Christianity. It is a voluntary relationship with God and Jesus. It is nothing similar to the ruling class of men.
 

To be a Christian one must not worship or give its loyalty to man, to idols, to nation. One is only to give that loyalty to Jesus, and God. Its very simple to see that comparing a forced and unwanted relationship to that of which is completely consentual is a fallacy.
 


 

Christians like myself, live and spread the message of love and peace. We live by our own law given by Jesus which are within the lines of the NAP. Even more so, often one will not use violence unless its risk of death. So why think bad of Christians? Is it in response to the old Laws? That Jesus died to save man from? So that sin can be forgiven and man can be saved from both sin and death? So why is this to be used as ammo against the Christian Anarchist?

Sort:  

While I'd be one of those athiest anarchists that mothers warn their children about, I must say that anyone who follows the Non Aggression Principal (NAP) is someone I'd count as worth listening to.

When I propose that "Jesus was an anarchist", most Christians that I know start complaining. However, if you read the Christian bible without letting your mind be bent by a priest or preacher, you might come to the same conclusion that I have.

Either way, the core books of most major religions hold a lot of good information in them.

Well said and be well. Do no harm to others should be comprehended by everyone.

Indeed, one will notice KJV was altered to exault Monarchs, which the Geneva Bible did not. Thats why many Christians believe such things.

hey I am also a Christian anarchist and am writing a book about how jesus taught anarchism and was a voluntaryist! I look forward to your posts and il follow you!

@tony.jennings,

THANK YOU for your enlightened perspective on being willing to listen to we Christian anarchists who hold to the NAP... ;)

I am actually not an anarchist, but I do like to explore the philosophy, and I certainly agree that anarchism and Christianity can be logically consistent. I have enjoyed browsing through some of Vernard Eller's writings on Christian Anarchy. They're available online, here. You might enjoy them, too.

@remlaps,

THANK YOU for the link to Vernard Eller... ;)

You're welcome. I hope it is helpful for you.

Nice post, short and to the point.

Upvoted. The only issue I have had with certain proponents of Christian Anarchism is in regard to the "infallibility of scripture" (one must deny logical inconsistencies to maintain that dried ink on pages can be objectively "perfect" and at the same time allow for slavery, or spanking, both of which violate the NAP).

Hi, @kafkanarchy84, nice to meet you here. I've read, upvoted an article of yours, and followed you because I want more... ;)

May we discuss your "only issue" just a bit? ;)

As a Christian Anarchist myself, I do believe in a (slightly qualified) version of "infallibility of scripture" but I don't require you to believe anything. You and I probably have more in common than I may with many of my Christian fellows. But I would love for you to understand this point.

Probably most importantly, the "spanking" issue... I don't know how old your son is, but Would you use physical force to prevent him from a fatal circumstance?

I don't view spanking as my "go-to" method of discipline for children and grandchildren, but each of us learn differently, and I do believe that there are circumstances and certain individuals where it is appropriate to use a small dose of otherwise harmless pain with pedagogic purpose.

Thanks for your comment here, and for a chance to say "hey." ;) I'm working on a series of articles about Christian Anarchy and agorism from my own experience, I invite you to "check 'em out." ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50