Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 9

Day 9

Today was an enforced rest day. I knew I'd spend the whole day traveling and was intending to work out in the early morning... but coming home from my partner's birthday party 4 hours earlier persuaded me otherwise.

Instead I left my place at 9am and flew across America to get to my hotel in the Mid-West at 10:30pm. Not a lot of time to punch out some pushups. I also ate really terribly. I was doing well all day, just ate the healthy snacks I brought with me, but once I got to the hotel I pretty much just ate everything that they had available. Which was, not healthy.

All that said, I don't feel bad about any of this.
I've been pushing myself pretty hard the previous 8 days... and allowing my body to rest and recover is just as important as actually training... especially since I seem to be pretty susceptible to overuse injuries.

Eating badly is okay too... if anything, the crappy feeling afterwards was a pretty excellent reminder to why I'm trying to eat properly.... and honestly, a plate of carbs just never tastes as good as I expect, to me. So another reminder that I'm not really missing much.

Screen_Shot_2017_08_02_at_1.05.59_PM.0.jpg

By the end of the day, my traps (muscles between neck and shoulder) were super sore. I have no idea whether that's due to big workouts yesterday, or lugging heavy backpacks or weird sleeping positions on planes. Regardless, it's time for my good friend the spikey ball. I wish I had him on the plane with me.

51Gyt5IIp9L._SY450_.jpg

Very very keen to get stuck back in tomorrow!

Sort:  

Sometimes taking a day to relax can absolutely help you recharge, especially if you overworked yourself recently. And Happy Birthday to your partner!

Absolutely! I completely agree... that's why I wasn't disappointed or anything, because I knew my body really could use that downtime.

Thank you! She had several birthday parties in Australia and one in America... she is really good at celebrating birthdays. It might be a special skill.

I hear ya on the bad eating! I always have FOMO (fear of missing out) with foods, especially junk foods, and sometimes they really hit the spot, but most of the time, I'm like, how did I ever eat all this crap? It has been the same way with soda. I will crave it for days, and when I finally give in, I'm like, ew, why do I do this to myself? Haha. Have a great rest!

Darn FOMO! I was actually fine for months and months on my special athlete diet, never had FOMO was totally into it... and then one day I just really struggled with weird junk food cravings... it was a couple of weeks before that Wolfpack competition so I didn't break it.. but everyday was a struggle. I broke it the weekend afterwards, had allllllll the things... and it was surprisingly unsatisfying.

We actually weren't allowed soda as kids... now as an adult my sister won't drink anything but, whereas I'm 100% water only. Not sure why it's different for us... just is.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aussieninja to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.87 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @aussieninja

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by theadz4000 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01