Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 83



Source

Welcome to Day 83!

I was absolutely reminded again just how huge diet is to energy levels. While I was traveling last week I wasn't as strict with my diet, mainly because it's a huge amount of effort... it's so much easier at home when your house is just full of the stuff you need. When I got back after a bad week of eating, I just threw it all in and chased it with pizzas and hot cross buns.

I think a lot of carby foods make me feel a bit off, and so I always just give in and go in deeper. It's such a weird phenomenon that I know everyone shares. I know the solution to my lethargy is to get back on my diet, but there's just something in the brain that says... 'well, I'm feeling crappy... might as well have some cake'.



Source

The reason I'm telling you all of this.... is because I jumped straight back into my diet on Monday (because I was home and I shopped specifically for it - nothing bad in the house) and so this morning (Tuesday) I felt way more energetic and just betterer. Like, heaps betterer!



Source

Which was good, because I had heaps to do today:



Diet. DIET. Just DIET!




Warmup

  • 10 minutes jump rope
  • 25 minutes cross trainer
  • 10 minutes cross trainer


Titan Games Trial

  • 5 minutes jump rope
  • 5 pull ups, 5 push ups
  • 4 pull ups, 4 push ups
  • 3 pull ups, 3 push ups
  • 2 pull ups, 2 push ups
  • 1 pull up, 1 push up
  • 1 minute plank


Tendonitis Strengthening Exercises

5 sets of :

  • 6 reps of slow pull ups
  • 6 reps of slow push ups
  • 6 reps of tricep dips
  • 6 reps of wrist dumb bell raises
  • 6 reps of squishy ball squishin
  • 10 reps of atomix ball jump grabs
  • 10 reps of bar grabbing
  • 40 second 90 degree holds



Legs were definitely struggling... and lower back... but neither was sore enough to slow me down or hold me back.




Yoga sessions (0/2 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 30 minutes cardio = 100 reps
  • Titan Games trial = 30 reps
  • 5 x 7 sets of 6 reps of Tendonitis Strengthening exercises = 210 reps

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Tuesday- 340 reps



Titan Games application due date - 14th April
UNAA Regional Qualifier - 5th May - Camp Rhino, Boise, Idaho.

Thanks heaps for reading... super super super appreciate it.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Yes, food makes such a difference. And carbs seem to create a craving for more carbs, but sounds like you're back on track. I did a super slow strengthening yoga practice today, being careful with a sore body but still working towards increased strength. Such a balance, making the practice match what I'm able to do without my ego going "you can do more, go for it!" and setting me up for injury. Anyway, you're an inspiration, keep at'er!

It's so hard.... I feel like my whole life is struggling for that balance. Building strength and stamina is all about intensity and pushing yourself... but remaining uninjured and not suffering overuse injuries is all about conditioning... it's a rough balance, and not one I super enjoy... but it's super necessary. I just have to be slow and steady... it's the only way.

Well done you though! Much restraint!

Hey!

I produced a blog that hasn't been published anywhere but here!

And you may find it useful :) 0/2 yoga sessions! Come on ;) !!

But congrats on the rest of your exercising :D

Anyway, here it is

Let me know if it is ok :)

Hope you are having a great week!

Ahhhhhh, young lady... it was 0/2 yoga sessions for the week... and it was only Tuesday... sheesh! I'm back on yoga track today though so you'll be slightly proud.

Really excited about your yoga stretches on the plane. I'm traveling on Monday for like 12 hours... 0% looking forward to that.

What was in your diet?

Hey hey!
I'm basically off carbs and sugar. It's called the Keto diet and concentrates on healthy fats, protein and veggies. It's pretty good but it's a lot of work at restaurants and while travelling.

Interesting, never heard of a Keto diet before.

Congratulations @aussieninja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33