Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 67

Jack Wilson.png

Day 67

Today was a struggle. I went off my diet this weekend... purely because it's exhausting to maintain... and have been struggling fitness-wise. I usually eat a lot of healthy fats and proteins, but today I ate a big ol' bowl of carbs about an hour before training... even though I knew it was going to cause me problems.

Dagnammit carbs... why do you have to be so... you?

Energy levels have been pretty low since dropping off, but I don't think I've been drinking enough water either... basically, to train at any sort of level, you have to be super disciplined and attack things before they become an issue, but in the last week or so I've been a bit lazy, and then only reacting once I'm already too hungry/thirsty/cold which then affects my training.



Source

In all, I just need to be heaps betterer. I think I'm struggling without a scary deadline to aim towards... but I have an idea about that. I'll need to research it but look out for my next post. It'll be a titan of a mega-post ...and the award of Worst At Hints goes to....

Before I chuck down today's stats... can I mention that my pull up bar is too cold? It's too damn cold.


I was determined to do well on my deadhang today... but the bar doesn't just chill your hands, it gets right inside them and freezes from the inside out until your hands are stinging... meanwhile my forearms and lats are just screaming like jerks. It was not fun.

Pull ups afterwards was murder. No part of me was happy... except my brain because he's always trying to make the body do things it doesn't want to do. It likes couching.



Source



Source


We totally loved Adam's interview during the Winter Olympics... so much more entertaining than the usual "Yeah, we've been training real hard, and then just gave it our best on the day." of every other post sporting-event speech.

AWNE Fitness Test

tryouts fitness checklist.png

AWNE Test22nd Jan29th Jan5th Feb19th Feb26th Feb
400m1:59.501:52.171:51.671:45.471:49:21
3 min deadhang1:201:25.301:37.851:08.051:40:03
16 pull ups16 quick16 slow16 quick16 barely16 barely

Today's exercises

AWNE Fitness Test

Injuries and sore spots

My legs were pretty sore this morning when I got up... but I'm honestly not sure what from.
Is mystery DOMS a thing?

Goals for February

  • 20 minutes of stretching every day (inspired by @polebird)
  • At least 2 classes of acroyoga (inspired by @karensuestudios)
  • One armed pull up
  • One handed pushup (challenged by @dolladu)
  • 8 foot peg board (challenged by @skiesandsports)
  • 15 minutes of meditation and visualization every day (challenged by @just2random)

Upcoming Events

UNAA Regional Qualifier - 5th May - Camp Rhino, Boise, Idaho.

Images provided by Google Image Search of 'Australian Ninja Warrior'.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Ooo what’s your usual diet consist of?!

I've been doing the ketosis/ketogenic diet for the last year or so... not super strict, but basically no carbs, no sugars and no below ground veggies. I really like it, but it can get exhausting thinking about everything all the time... so I break it occasionally but this time it's been harder to get back on, and the energy levels are not quite there yet.

ive done low carb before buts its really hard to get back to that routine since im not like i was before

Can you wear gloves or put something over the metal so it feels less like the inside of a freezer? :O

goatsig

I actually tried that once... and that's when I slipped off and totally landed on my butt. The gloves just aren't grippy enough, or are too grippy, or the whole thing was too weird.... like having a second skin that moves independently... which is alarming when you're holding yourself up in the air.

I'm sure it's possibly to get good enough gloves... but I'll just brave it for the moment, I'm sure winter will quit it any day now.

good activity i am interest about that

Interesting. Are you increasing fitness levels in general, losing weight or gaining muscle mass? Interested to know as I have been into bodybuilding (natural) for over 30 yrs. Could you possibly be overtraining just now?
Cheers!
Dave

New Steemian Dave! A pleasure to have you here!

I'm increasing fitness levels and trying to increase mobility, flexibility and strength in certain movements. It's all designed to tackle obstacle courses at a fairly high level... so I need to be able to hold up my own weight for fairly long periods of time. Here is a link to the latest comp I did, it's a pretty good example of what I'm training for:

https://steemit.com/unaa/@aussieninja/aixwui06

I might have been overtraining just now because I basically had the last 2 weeks off as I was on holidays, so I'm trying to get back into the groove.

Thanks for your comment, I really appreciate it!

Congratulations @aussieninja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice work getting stuck in regardless dude! It's so tough sometimes, this week I've been really slack, decided to use the three rest days as taper for a new FTP test (maximum effort test on the indoor bike to calculate my maximum sustainable 1 hour power output). Actually managed a really good effort (as evidenced by the exercise induced mid-session vomit - always the mark of 110% effort!)

Top work on the deadhang! You'll get that mojo back in no time bud! Nothing wrong with a few rest days here and there, you've been smashing it for weeks before your break so I'm sure it will do you good in the long run!

Hahahahaa, oh man! Dude! Mid-sesh vom... you are hard to the core!

I'm always confused about resting and not resting... sometimes a few days off has me stronger and better than ever... and sometimes it just deflates me and leaves the world with a weak ol Aussie Ninja who can't do a thing. After deciding to apply for Titan, I already feel my energy and resolve coming back... thanks Mr The Rock.

Haha worst part is I didn't save the workout on my watch! It saved to my PC so it's all good, but it won't be on Strava, which means it basically didn't happen. Gutted!

It's weird isn't it? I've had 5 weeks training, the last 2 of those were awesome, then a week and a half of struggling. I feel like if I go hardcore with the intervals it's just a bit too much stress for my body! I guess it's just about trying to listen to your body as best you can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42