Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 43

@treeninjadonny - 1.jpg

Day 43

Another day, another ninja gym!

It was only Day 38 where I outlined my plan to concentrate on the following in order:

1.) Tendonitis strengthening and conditioning
2.) Increase anaerobic ability
3.) Overall strength and conditioning
4.) Skills development

The very next week I've pretty much ignored that and I'm hitting Ninja Gyms all over the shop.



Source

Tonight I drove back to Chicago again to go to Chicago Ninja Academy to train. I really do believe that my training really has to refocus on those 4 points, and I realise I've now hit Skills Development 2 nights in a row instead of concentrating on the first 2, but it has all come down to opportunity. I'm in the area so I might as well hit these gyms. Once I get back home I'll have 2 weeks before Portland and 3 weeks before Phoenix.

Over that time I'll definitely concentrate on my conditioning and anaerobic capacity.

In unrelated news... this is what driving in the mid-west is like:
20180117_070728.jpg

I actually do regret hitting the ninja gym tonight, I was exhausted from the week and pretty sore from yesterday. My tendonitis didn't hurt at all yesterday, even though I hit the obstacles pretty hard, which was amazing, but tonight was a totally different story. I know I can't handle twice in 3 days, so it was a silly error of judgement... I was just excited to see my friends again.

I did some training, and played on some obstacles, I definitely got something out of this excursion... and that something was chatting with my friends... and then bed.



Source

Today's exercises

Workout
2 hours of ninja play.

Injuries & sore spots

Feeling pretty not-great to be honest. As soon as I touched anything, my forearms hurt.

Goals for January

  • 20 minutes of stretching every day (inspired by @polebird)
  • At least 2 classes of acroyoga (inspired by @karensuestudios)
  • Hit the top of the 14' 6" wall with both hands (December's was 14")
  • One armed pull up
  • One handed pushup (challenged by @dolladu)
  • 8 foot peg board (challenged by @skiesandsports)
  • 15 minutes of meditation and visualization every day (challenged by @just2random)

Upcoming Events

  • Ninja competition (UNAA) in Portland - 4th Feb
  • American Ninja Warrior Experience in Phoenix - 10th Feb
  • American Ninja Warrior Experience in San Diego - 3rd March

Images provided by Google Image Search of 'Australian Ninja Warrior'.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

How are you going with those January Goals? Kicking arse?

Actually not so much.
A week of injury and a week of travelling kind of destroyed everything, so I'm running to get back on track now. I've still got 8 days so a whole lot of discipline and smashing it are in order.

@offgridninja NINJASPO!

NINJASPO!

Had a look at @offgridninja's latest post... looks like he's getting ready for action!

Shake shake shake, you roll the 20-sided die.

You rolled a 1.

You blow on two 6-sided dice, and throw:

First die lands...
You rolled a 3.

Second die lands...
You rolled a 6.

Gobbo sneaks in and steals all the dice.
He laughs like a jerk and throws a die.

The sneaky git rolls a 2.

Shake shake shake, you roll the 6-sided die.

You rolled a 4.

Shake shake shake, you roll the 20-sided die.

You rolled a 15.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83