Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 101

in #americanninjawarrior6 years ago (edited)



Hey hey!

Sooooo..... both @karensuestudios and @phamished have mentioned that they thought my posts would be a hundred trillion times better if I used photos of myself doing exercises instead of amazing ninjas doing amazing things. I'm super doubtful, but they're both heaps smart so we'll see.

Anywho... had an absolutely epic weekend with @karensuestudios and @teamsteem visiting me, which was super exciting. I think there are some videos coming, so I won't spoil anything, but it was an incredibly fun weekend that I never wanted to end. You can see some photos here.

Also, we're setting up a bit of a May Movement Mob so if you're keen to get some running or cycling or whatevs in, please check out this guy.

Okay, so today... after such an exciting weekend, and my competition is less than a week away, I hit everything with renewed vigor (which was hard, because I was sore... @karensuestudios is very persuasive).


tryouts fitness checklist.png


AWNE Test19th Feb26th Feb5th March12th March26th March16th April23rd April30th April
400m1:45.471:49.211:43.541:45.211:49.571:40.102:00.071:46.91
3 min deadhang1:08.051:40:031:11:201:30:491:09:1201:13.201:19.41:21.16
16 pull ups1616161616161616

The dead hang is coming along very slowly, but it is feeling better each time.
I don't know how I got 1:40 on the 400m run earlier last month, I felt like I was really booking it today and still came up short... I'll beat you yet April Adam!



Honestly, having a comp to train for really is the best. There's nothing that gets me training harder.




Cardio

  • 30 minutes on the Cross Trainer (Level 12)


AWNE Test

  • 400m sprint
  • 1 minute dead hang
  • 16 pull ups



Tendonitis has been crazy bad for weeks now. It's super confusing and just seems to be getting more hardcore. I've got to work this guy out...




Yoga sessions (0/2 Completed)
Slackline practice (0/7 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 30 minutes cardio = 100 reps.
  • Pull ups = 16 reps.

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Monday - 116 reps



UNAA Regional Qualifier - 5th May - Camp Rhino, Boise, Idaho. = 5 days.

Thanks heaps for reading... super super super appreciate it.


Steem Run Club


Might need a better heading than this...


MonthlyMayMotivationalMovementMob- 3.96 kms


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Agree. I think photos of you ninjaing is better.

I mean... I guess... I do understand that it makes it way more personal and therefore interesting... but I am worried you'll all get bored pretty quick. I guess we'll see...

This will probably sound a bit strange but I find tendonitis gets much worse if you support your head with your hands when you sleep.

If you are a side sleeper and habitually put your hands or just one hand (particularly the hand on the same side you are sleeping on) under your head or pillow you can be putting a great strain on the tendons, nerves and ligaments in your hands & elbows.

For someone who doesn't do any climbing or pullups it's of no consequence but if you are in heavy training or even just doing a lot of climbing, the tension though your hands and elbows is multiplied times 10+ if you sleep like that. So when you are asleep and should be recovering from the days training you could be stressing the crap out of your hands and elbows & aggravating the problem.

If I sleep on my side when I've been training pullups I get tendonitis every time if I sleep with my hand tucked under my pillow or my chin. So I basically had to train myself into different sleep habits.

I'm not saying this will be what's causing your issues but it could be something to look into, if you wake up on your side and find one hand tucked under your head or pillow give it a moments contemplation and evaluate the amount of tension in your hand and elbow on that side. If your hand is numb or your elbow is sore it could be a clue.

All I had to do to solve my problem was swap the hand that I tuck under my head to the top hand. If you use the hand that is on the side you are laying on chances are you're stressing the crap out of all your tendons, nerves and ligaments on that side.

No, it's not strange at all.... one of the girls I used to train with said that she had big tendonitis issues until she started sleeping with her arms straight (on her side with her arms between her legs).

I adjusted my own sleeping style to the soldier crawl so that my right arm is straight... unfortunately I put my left under my head, I just can't seem to sleep comfortably otherwise.

I do somehow end up on back each night anyway, but I'll definitely be more aware of what's going on to see if there is a sweet fix in there somewhere...

Great suggestion!!!

Yes, yes, yes! Haha you posted pictures of yourself!! (This sounds creepy but I swear it's not).

Love it. I was scrolling hoping for more but I see what you're doing. Sort of just drip feeding us so we get hooked and then keep us coming back for more, I like it.

BTW did you set up a camera to take that photo or did some legit take a photo of you? Either is acceptable haha

ALSO, checked out @karensuestudios post! Awesome that she went to visit you but dude even better you cooked sausages LOL so Aussie!! Where's the potato salad?

Hahahaha! Well I posted one pic so far and no one has run away yet... so I'll put Pics of Myself on a probationary period... and if they're just so boring that everyone packs up and leaves then I'll break out the super exciting professional Australian Ninja Warrior pics again.

I actually set it on my letterbox to take a video of me so I could grab a snap... but it was raining while I was running so you can see raindrops on the photo. Dahhh! Nature!

Ha! You can trust 100% that we had potato and pasta salad... and it was unreal!
I honestly didn't think there was going to be nearly enough food, but I had forgotten that everyone had been eating all day... so even though I ate 3x more than everyone else we still had food leftover... so Aussie... and we taught them all that sausages are called snags. They loved it!

Hahaha I love that you sent the cam up on the letterbox, true dedication! I think you can still mix it up and use the proper Ninja photos but it’s good to see you actually doing it too just so people can visibly appreciate your training effort!!

Haha it must be an Aussie thing, I always fear there’s not enough food but there always seems to be leftovers...nice work with the Aussie slang, next thing is to teach them that the “trash can” is in fact a rubbish bin 😀

Hahahaha, I totally tried to teach them about that... and their first question was... if you have a big night and get totally drunk do you say you went out and 'got rubbished'... so then I had to teach them all the way worse ways Aussies talk about big drinking nights.

Hahaha I mean, even though that's not the correct term, if someone told me they went and got rubbished my first guess would be that they got completely drunk so the meaning still carries!!

All the worse ways ... smashed, pissed, wrecked...haha

Hahah yes, but photos where you are not the size of an ant please 😂😂😂😂 is that a guy or girl in the photo? Not sure 😆 hahah jk!

Hahahahahahahahahaaaaaaadammmit! OMG I still have so much to learn about all this bloggin' and vloggin' bizzo. Alright, in my next post I'm trying to make sure it's close enough that you can at least tell I'm a manly dude who is manly.

Also, your selfies of us were so good. Did you blur the background or is your tiny camera amazing?

I forgot meeting your wife was also very awesome! I found my new religion until I tried their bike, biking around Portland.

Hahaha, Nike Bikies! When we lived downtown, they were just the best!
I'm so glad you got to meet her, even if for such a short time... she was excited about speaking French with you - we don't really know anyone else that can speak it.

Karen said you really don't speak English at all except with us... I never would have guessed that in a million years!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77