Mail Call from @goldrooster

in #americaningermany5 years ago (edited)

Last week I did a post about visiting my ancestral burial grounds here in Northern Germany, you can read it here. I never expected the reaction I got from the community and I am really grateful so many people read my article. Several groups curated the post but one special Steemit blogger went above and beyond and graciously sent me an amazing Germanic silver Coin!

EEF1E35E-E9B0-41EA-BA0B-8117404E1A42.jpeg

A couple months ago for the SSG Monster Raffle, @goldrooster shared a post of the coins he was donating and one of the coins was this Germanic rune stone coin and I was immediately in love! He remembered that and saw my post and decided he would send it to me anyway! Thank you so much!

I don't have a large silver collection, but this is by far my new favorite piece and I don't know how anything could top it. It's everything I love; silver, Vikings, runes, and, get this, it comes from the exact museum I visited this past Saturday with my family! I even did a post about it here.

This coin traveled all the way to Holland and is back home where it will stay!

The unboxing:

782B3AFF-EE20-456A-942C-FD5D431AACA9.jpeg

C745F242-EA89-495F-8890-B5730A52D356.jpeg

E3F33AAC-BDF3-413E-87C8-2DFB392874C4.jpeg

The display case is the coolest I have ever seen on a coin. Inside gives a little history and a translation of the runes and their meanings!

2502AEDE-AC8E-4762-9432-A48B732372E8.jpeg

This coin will be a great conversation piece for visitors and I couldn't be happier! Thanks again, @goldrooster! You're the best!!!

Sort:  

wow ! That is love ! Your worth it pal

Thanks buddy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice work all around. Community in action.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fricking awesome!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a great unboxing article, @balticbadger! That is an amazing Germanic silver coin! Thanks for sharing it with us. This is my first look at that coin.

Thank you very much. I haven't put it away yet because I can't stop looking at it. On top of that my stackitous he been inflamed!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a great silver round, I very nearly bought one of these myself. I appreciate that the producers have taken the opportunity to include cultural and runic information in the wallet.

For those interested, only 1,999 of these 42 gram / 1.350321 troy oz 999 fine rounds were struck in 2014, they have a face value of NZD$2 and as such feature the head of Queen Elizabeth II on the obverse, original list price of € 59,50, further info here: http://shop.deutsche-edelmetallkasse.de/produkte/buegermuenze_germania.html?prod=146

Nice, culturally and otherwise, and a fine gift from @goldrooster.

Heritage is a fine treasure in its own right, enjoy wallowing delving in it :)

That is a classic Steemian sir badger! Incredible coin, that is fantastic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57