English Words I Will Never Use Again

in #americaningermany6 years ago (edited)

Being an American living in Germany for the past 15 months, not only has my German improved greatly but my English has changed. I don't know if my English has gotten worse but there are definitely words I will never use again after learning and using the German form on a daily basis.

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/balticbadger-english-words-i-will-never-use-again-bs4elekf-1544605364770.png

Here are some English words I will probably never use again (unless they are absolutely needed)

Cell Phone

Now, this was probably the first English word I replaced 7 or 8 years ago when I first met my German wife. The Germans use a slang word for cell phone and that is Handy. It just makes more sense to me and is a much more practical word.

Gloves

The German word for gloves is Handschue. I don't think it is necessarily an easier way to say gloves, but in my mind it's Handschue. When I am talking to my family or friends back home it probably sounds pretty ridiculous when I say ”Have you seen my Handschue?”

Stroller

The more I think about it the less I like the English word stroller, but maybe it's more of an American word anyways. We have small children so we bring a stroller everywhere we go. The word I use now for a stroller is Kinderwagen. The thing about this word is, it is indeed German but when I am talking to my children or wife I say it with an American accent so I pronounce it kinder Way gun instead of the German kinder Va gen. I know horrible, but it just happens that way.

Car

I fought this for a long time, but it is really difficult to not say the German word for car which is Auto. My kids say it and to me, it just sounds better. The word Car just doesn't make sense in my brain anymore.

Shit

Excuse my profanity, but I guess for the majority of my life (long before I ever learned German) I said Scheiße instead of Shit. Which is funny because lots of Germans say shit instead of Scheiße. I guess it’s just a matter of preference.

I hope you all enjoyed this post. If you have any examples like this, please share them down below. I would love to hear about your language experiences.

Have a great day thanks for reading this!

Please vote for @petertag as witness. He is a great up and coming coder who genuinely cares about the Steemit community. Please let me know if you have any questions.Vote here!

Join the Lion's Den Discord Server by clicking on the image below and follow us @larrythelion

Lion's Den Discord

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

you made me laughing.

Do you know the german word "Donaudampfschifffahrtgesellschaftskapitänsmützenabzeichen" ?

No sorry! No odea!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow, I am honored. Thank you! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi balticbadger,Like your post.i Want more posts like this

Thanks a lot @alom234! Glad you enjoyed it :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey Dude, i really enjoy this post, because im doin a lot of SHIT in English but im a german :D

And a long time ago i talked to a lot of Americans about same words in german and english or otherwise ;)

so i found this list

https://de.wiktionary.org/wiki/Verzeichnis:Englisch/Ähnliche_Wörter_Englisch–Deutsch

and a lot of em didnt knew its so much same in both languages
.

At least we need to know howe its ENGLISH as language is born... its almost a GERMAN thing ^^

So the ANGLO SAXONS moved to the now known ENGLAND , the part ANGLO moved in time to ENGLO/ENGLISH so it isnt really british teir own language. Its all based on a time round about years 500-1000

Less People know about this, but its always funny to see how less a lot of people know about the own languages :D

Wow that’s really cool! All the best things come from Germany! 🇩🇪 what i found really interesting is how German the British royal family is! Crazy 😝 thanks for checking it out and your comment

Posted using Partiko iOS

Next Funny Fact this all BRITSH hymn was the German not hymn but KAISER´s Song :D haha the Royals of the British empire were in Germany in 1800 and thinks the Music was nice so they adapt em :D haha and Germany went over then from Kaisers time into the German Reich and used then another music as hymn then :D

Hahah that is funny! When people ask me why I moved to Germany I say „to make Germany great again“ 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Pronounciation wise I 'shit' is still shitty....I got a better name in Romanian called 'K K'....simple and sober but not matching with shit quality😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Very true! Nothing like taking a good healthy shit! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I spent a little time in Hungary and the guy I worked with couldn't remember the English word for tweezers. We just started using the Hungarian word, csipasz, instead. Even 18 years later I think "chipas" in my head when I see a pair of tweezers.

Posted using Partiko Android

See ain’t that funny how that works? It is like some words are just meant to be that way. Never been to Hungary would love to visit! Was it pretty safe/stable when you were there?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was 18 years ago. Back then it was perfectly safe and dirt cheap. They weren't on the Euro yet and the exchange rates were good.

Now it sounds like they have gone off the deep end.

Posted using Partiko Android

@balticbadger hah.. I could never call my smartphone "handy" hahaha.. interesting perspective.

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s weird at first now it’s just normal

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have same experience, people who able to speak multi-language also have same problem. That is normal, a polyglot encountered similar problem. Congratulations welcome to multi-language society ☺️✌️

Haha thank you! I still have a long way to go!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lustig, manchmal sage ich shit und manchmal sage ich scheiße xD
Auf jeden Fall ein cooler Post! :D

Danke! Und es gibt nur diese Wort auf English „Shitstorm“. Ich finde das ein schönes Worte.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54