Back in Business!

in #americaningermany5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my blog!

If you're reading this it's fairly certain you already know I am big into metal detecting, and if you really know my blog you will remember about three months ago, right at the start of detecting season, my detector broke (It was junk anyway). Check it out here.

8298FB70-7B2D-4AE3-B405-BB4A680824CE.jpeg

Well, now ladies and gents I am back in business. Fresh from good old Texas, US of A a brand new metal detector. Something I am sure @janton can appreciate. This is my first ever professional level detector it is a Bounty Hunter Time Ranger. I picked it up on a black Friday deal for $130 but then had to pay 60 for shipping and customs which put me back to the normal price. You can't find these amazing machines here in Germany so I am really happy about it.

AAADC17E-8C8F-4A91-8C62-67F45FC19252.jpeg

From the get-go, you can see the craftsmanship and care put into these metal detectors. It even comes with an extra search coil for gold and detailed searching.

0D213B17-6112-4624-828C-C988D536C085.jpeg

I don't think I will ever use the small search coil unless I come upon a trove of coins or something, even then I don't think I will need to but still really cool!

After watching every YouTube video made about these metal detectors, I hardly had to read the manual but still learned a few things when I did.

This morning I got out for a few hours to test out a some of the programs, ground balancing, and such and I am truly impressed.

E30E4857-5996-496D-9E3A-F7C69BA9E89C.jpeg

Out in the garden, I have been over the area a hundred times with my old detector and I still found lots of new stuff. This really old tea kettle was laying out back by the original farmhouse ruins and by that knowledge alone I can tell you it is at least 50 years old.

D9E7C371-CD03-47D3-9D80-A90684ABE666.jpeg

Near the kettle I found this strange medallion thing. It doesn't seem like a normal can lid or car part the edges are rounded and smooth like a coin and it has some solid weight to it. Unfortunately, it's too old and damaged to see if there is any writing or anything.

F7CFBDDD-E10C-48BE-99B2-2FEA2BC72459.jpeg

This caster, or pulley thing, is a really interesting find. It is so well made and well preserved. You can't see by the picture but there are even carved details in the pulley wheel itself. It appears almost decorative.

9AA1E60C-F84D-432D-A32A-D93D0C9FCFB3.jpeg

Finally, what the Time Ranger is most famous for, I found some old coins! These guys were buried a foot or two apart and are only a year apart in age. They are German Reich 10 Pfenning coins dated 1919 and 1920. Because they are so cheaply made (Zinc) I have yet to find one in really good condition. In fact, 10 Pfenning coins are the only old German coins I have found out here. Hopefully with this new machine I can change that!

I found lots of beer cans, nails, Nivea cream tins, and other junk but I am so pleased with how this metal detector operates. The discrimination feature works really well and as soon as I figured it out I didn't dig another nail. It swings nice in your hand and feels really sturdy unlike my last one.

Tomorrow, we are supposed to have some nice weather and I am planning to head out to the woods. Our Jagermeister (yes we have an actual Jagermeister for our woods) told me about a spot outside of town to check out.

Apparently, after WWII, the area here was occupied by a British tank unit and they had bivouacs out in the woods. I know the area he explained to me and I have seen some of those anti-tank concrete pillars so I think it might be a good place to check. Sad thing is most areas around here have been heavily searched already, but then again I doubt they had a Bounty Hinter Time Ranger with them!

Maybe tomorrow I will have a video for you guys, I have been meaning to give @3speak a try!

Until then!

@balticbadger

Proud @stem.curate curator.
11236A27-5EFD-447D-8CBD-D423573E1079.jpeg
Join Here!

Sort:  

Baltic Badger Bounty Hunter...Has a ring to it bro!

Nice detector...Pressure is on now though...I wanna see you find a cache of Nazi gold!

Go!

I do like the sound of that!!!

The thing is when I do find the gold no one will ever know about it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just as it should be...✅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52