You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My "Steem Ambassador" Application - PROMO-STEEM - @jackmiller

Lovely family, mate. Congrats on the community service.

Where do you stand on paid upvoting bots, and on selling/buying witness votes?

Sorry if that's in the video or other links, but I'm posting "on the fly" this morning, and don't have time to dig deeper, atm.

Sort:  

On the "bid bots" as most of us refer to them, well, they are a business for those who run them and they are in line with the Steem code and protocol, so basically I can see how they can be used as a tool and unfortunately abused by "shitposters".

Many point the finger at the service providers, while in fact the problem isn't in them, it is in those that use the service in a way that undermines this entire endeavour and the whole idea of "Proof of Brain".

Although, some would say that scheming their way to money takes a bit of "brains too".

I don't own, run or delegate to any of the "bid bots". I do however run/manage some community orientated bots, i.e. @anzub and @umvbot.
I also use a bot to manage @witnesspage.

So none of us are imune from using bots, again, I stress, as long as they are used as a tool/aid and for good.

Witness votes, tell me who sells them and at what price?

I was told that one (now former) witness used to outright pay for votes, I asked him about it and he openly said that he was awarding people who voted for him back when he first started his campaign (last year).
With the added explanation that he then didn't see any other way of making it.

Apart from that one case, I can't say I know of anyone who pays for votes. A lot of talk, but nothing to back it up, as is the case with many of the "hear say" chit chat whispering and accusations going on around here. Give me a name, or names, with block numbers in which the payments were made and I'll be more than glad to look into it.

Thanks for the clarifications, Jack. I appreciate your candor.

Personally, I believe Steemit can only succeed, long term, when bid bots are no longer "in line with the Steem code and protocol."

Many have that opinion and I believe that the anger needs to be directed towards the abusers, not those who offer a service that can be used in an effective and profitable manner for one and all.

You may recall, Ned presented an addition that can serve as a perfect "solution" to all those who disagree with "bid bots" yet unfortunately there was only a few posts written up about it, zero debates or open conversations, while the entire time the constant complaining about bid bots went on and on.

The CEO of Steemit shows that he and his team are listening to us Steemians and "we" as a collective just ignored him and his well thought out strategy to ensuring all Steemians are satisfied with the options we have here. That made me very sad.

Yet, I am convinced once the SMTs are in and Neds proposed addition which shall serve as an outright solution to the "unhappiness with bid bots" the talk about bid bots shall die down and we shall all see that we should be proactive and constructive with our approach, looking for solutions to make Steem the dream it can and shall be!

PS, haven't heard anyone use that word in years, ref. to candour.

Thanks for the compliment, feels good, and in the same tone, I appreciate you asking up front, rather than beating around the bush. Makes life easy for everyone when people have that straight shooter approach.

Thanks, Jack. I am still just a 2-month newbie here, so a lot of the technical talk still goes over my head. I just innately have always believed that anything that you do well should be paid well, and that short cuts short circuit any worthwhile effort.

Can you link me to something Ned said/wrote/suggested about ending the bid bots? TIA....

Your good, in fact your miles ahead of me when I was two months old!

Here is the post that literally was THE POST.

https://steemit.com/steem/@nairadaddy/good-person-token-something-big-is-coming-from-steemit-inc

I think there may have maybe one or two more posts on the topic, but don't quote me on that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59