THE STUFF YOU'LL NEVER SEE AT THE GROCERY STORE

in #amazing6 years ago

For an opportunity to see this in person, you'll have to garden!


In the wonderful world of gardening, there are a variety of "mistakes" or "misprints" that can happen. Sometimes, the fruit just doesn't form properly, and in those cases, you end up with some interesting harvests. This was one such case.

FOUR TOMATOES IN ONE?

Back up in Wisconsin, I once grew a double pepper. This time, it was a "quad-tomato." Can you believe that? it is basically four tomatoes all growing from the same stem. What caused this? I don't know, but maybe some bee pollinated it wrong, lol.

Have you ever seen anything like this? I've seen a lot of variation over the years, but this was a stretch. It reminds me of some sort of science model of a nucleus or something. It was bizarre enough that I thought I would share it. Most likely, if I save the seeds it'll just grow "regular" tomatoes, but perhaps, just maybe, if it grew "quad-tomatoes," then I could charge four times as much at the farmers market.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-quad-tomato

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

That's really interesting! I don't think I've ever seen a triple tomato, let alone quadruple! It almost looks like an alien device in the last photo. Keep those cherry bombs to yourself :-D

Save the seeds, never hurts to try, LOL! You need seeds anyway, so nothing lost! :D But if it does grow true, you can sell the most unusual tomato seeds ever....

I also do gardening and I've seen such anomalies. In your case, a certain moment, several flowers grew together and they gave such a fruit.

I wonder how much food gets tossed just because it’s not grocer quality when it comes to the look of the food? I like the idea of charging more for the extraordinary looking veggies!

Good point. There are probably a lot of tasty "rejects" out there going to waste.

Cool new one on me. I've had double carrots.
.images.duckduckgo.jpg

I've seen some carrots that looked like octopi. Not sure why...

Nuclear rain watered this tomatoes? Joke:)

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope not! LOL

thanks for your great blogsmile.gif

You are right. You won't see these in a market. That is because most people won't buy any fruit or veggie that doesn't look like what they come to expect. Personally, I love these kinds of veggies because I know that veggies can look different and usually do. I think these kinds of veggies taste best!

Now that is cool!!! What are the odds of that? It is cool when stuff like this happens in the garden. So far we haven't had anything like that grow yet. I wonder if there is a way to test the tomatoes for radiation? That is the only thing I can think of that might have influenced them growing like this.

hahaha this is awesome. I have grown "butt" tomatoes before, but never have I seen a quad. One thing I find fascinating is when people grow watermelons in those box molds, and then they have square watermelons. lol Gardening is truly fascinating. I wonder what the world would be like if everyone gardened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45