Week 4 - Vertcoin(VTC) -$100 a week on low-cap coins +FREE VTC

in #altcoin7 years ago (edited)

Investing in coins I don't currently have. $100 a week for at least 10 weeks. Giving away free crypto each time I invest.

Week 4 - Vertcoin (VTC)

Market Cap - $21,570,916
Price - $0.581678
Supply - 37,083,947 VTC
$100 nets ~172 VTC coins
https://vertcoin.org/

What is Vertcoin?

Vertcoin is a cryptocurrency that is aimed at being... a currency. Usually I prefer coins or tokens that have a specific utility or specified use other than just sending payments, but Vertcoin is one of the few exceptions. The reason? Atomic swaps. Vertcoin will be the first cryptocurrency, along with Litecoin, to experiment with atomic swaps. Atomic swaps are swapping currencies across different blockchains. You can trade Vertcoin for Litecoin straight up without needing an exchange getting in the way and tagging on their fees. In theory atomic swaps should work between any two cryptocurrencies that have both Segwit and Lightning Network implemented. This reason alone is enough for Vertcoin to catch my attention.

But there's more...

First off it's made to be ASIC resistant. This means that you don't have to have specialized hardware to mine it. This increases the security of the network by encouraging a wider distribution of mining power. Anybody can mine Vertcoin with widely available hardware. It's aim from the beginning was to further decentralize the currency.

The development has also focused on privacy by developing stealth addresses. The public blockchain that most cryptocurrencies have is what helps make them so secure. Nodes all over the world are all looking at the same information and agreeing that the transactions are the same. When you create a stealth address, when someone wants to pay you they can use this address to generate a unique key known only to them. When you import them into your wallet using your stealth address, only you and the person paying will know the combination of addresses needed to view a specific transaction.

There is a small team working on Vertcoin but the fact that it has been around for a long time and it had innovative developers was enough to make it my coin this week.

I will be giving away 50 VTC coins. Just leave a working Vertcoin address in the comments by Friday, July 28th and a winner will be chosen at random.

Week 1 - GridCoin
Week 2 - BitBay
Week 3 - WeTrust

Update: u/_whatsthismean on reddit gave me 10 more VTC so I can have a second place!

Sort:  

Winners

@quantson - 50 VTC
@stlcp - 10 VTC

Thanks to everyone for taking the time to read my post. I'll pick a different coin every Monday off of Bittrex.

:D thank you much! I was having a rough day but your random kindness was well timed. I'll keep telling my friends about these cool alts. What a great community

Congrats to the winners. 😁

Awesome post. Wish i had seen this back when you did Gridcoin. Have been crunching with gridcoin for a while now. Back when it was SETI@home screensaver.
Will be following you for the next installments.
Vertcoin address : VxMqyLYepKnDeXuisF2oSaqH6ANGES4RVh

Thanks for the post and good content.
Glitch

Gridcoin is the reason I started this. I heard about it and looked into it and just assumed there were a bunch of people like me who didn't pay much attention to the lower coins.

And I found gridcoin cause i was looking for something to use all the potential miner hardware I have laying around. lol Nothing good enough for big coins but trickle of small ones. :-) thanks for supporting small coins and small fry, xD
just incase you or anyone feels generous. heres my Grc : S9V7RYapWTiYQtTJVPrpns458qf5BWv9n2

Thanks :-)

You are a hero my friend :) I hope you will reach your goals with your kind gestures :)

VvVqb45GmjvwkQNG7VQZaYsHKUxdVdePDX

My only goal is to spread awareness. Good luck this week!

Woo! I love you Vertcoin!

This is a great idea @oregonpop - I'm doing a STEEM giveaway right now, but doing interesting altcoins sounds like even more fun, and helps promote more platforms we care about.

Best,

@mikev

Thank you.

Been mining vertcoin lately!

Vrwv4Q62sDPgWyM37ThiMFdZJGNmmpveSu

Thanks to some cool dude on reddit, you win second place. 10 VTC sent to your wallet.

Thank youuuu!

Thanks for the giveaway Gl all.

VvkcXvS1FBNodRHbSxBARnBHyhcmx6r6cS

I kinda like this coin!

adress - VpsmfmgqjkfdraMnTwAJcocr4DNDhNF6xH

It has some pretty breakthrough possibilities!

Besides the chance to get some free coins, these posts are great because you basically just gave an elevator pitch for the coin. Great series.
Vbu2ELMB9qV36YYeeDotL7iY7yRVoPAt4U

Thanks @bru. I don't see enough "quick info" about lesser known coins, that's for sure.

Appreciate the info on Vertcoin and the heads-up on the other crytpos. Wading through the crypto weeds is tough, it's nice to have views from others. VTC address:
VpQnFJpEb3R6p4Q78YrVH6DU7a6ok2fuW8

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43