Pocket Sized Travel Solar Charged Power Bank For Your Digital Devices. 3 days till Canada!!

in #alt-energy7 years ago

A must have for the avid traveler. Free, almost unending power for your phone or tab while you’re out pretty much anywhere.


I bought this few years ago back when I went to a solar power trade show in Hong Kong. I actually bought about 10 of them and gave them away to my friends and family. This is the last one I had never taken out f the box. For some reason I can’t find the one I usually use so I get a fresh battery.

This little gadget does a good job. It can almost fully charge an iPhone 6 from zero power with one charge. Which isn’t bad considering it will keep making power even while it charges in the sunlight.

It’s lightweight and has a durable aluminum casing. It isn’t the fastest charging device as it takes a little over 10 hours to fully charge in direct sunlight. Which is OK because you’re not going to need it every day all the time. It just creates energy when you're not using it and stores it until you do. You can keep it on the dash of your car as you're driving or leave it by the window in your house.

Once it’s charged it will hold the power for months unused while hidden in the dark the glove box of your car or stuffed in your luggage or backpack.

They come with all these useless attachments so it should work with any device but to be honest as long as you have your devices own USB power cord these attachment are just a sales pitch.

USB is out power to any device.

And since I am leaving China in a couple days for my holiday back home in Canada I figured I should keep some extra power on hand as I doubt the airplane will have chargers. It’s night time now but you can also charge it using any other power source if you don’t have time or enough sunlight. The red light means its still charging, it will turn green when it is full.

This particular charger is unbranded as it was the show model and the idea is I would use my own brand on it after I purchased several thousands, which I never did.

There are tons of these on the market today ranging in price from $10US and up depending on the brand, the size of the battery and solar panel. Plus some are really rugged and water proof. I’m not here to sell you any particular brand. I do want you to get one though. You won’t regret it. You would never have to pay to charge your phone again, well at least until you need a new charger to keep up with the more power hungry phones we get every year.

What’s your favourite solar powered gadget or device?

Sort:  

Perfect. These are pretty easy to find in China. #ssg

Yea, there everywhere here. Cool stuff. Keeps getting better and cheaper.

I've never heard of these before. I feel like we are living in Star Trek these days. When will the holo-deck arrive?

I tried flying to Shenzhen a couple weeks ago with a portable charger but they wouldn't let me bring it in my carry on. I had to get it delivered back to my house. Are these solar powered ones okay for flights? And you never mentioned a price point. How much does one run for?

I bought it wholesale I think less than $10us. I had larger power bank taken from me at the airport before, I never got it back though. >< No time.

In the future power will be harnessed from everywhere easily, hopefully free.

I'll have to keep my eyes open then. Haven't even seen these in stores yet. Yeah I was lucky I had a few extra minutes to ship mine. Was still a little frustrating though. Then again, if for some reason power banks have a tendency to explode, fair enough.

Hopefully!!

I have heard some have exploded. Scary if it's in your pocket.

No disrespect, but I am gonna be a voice of dissent here. These little mini solar chargers don't cut the mustard in my experience, and it's possible to do much better for the same price or less (as measured by PV wattage). Upvoted anyway, for promoting solar.

That's true. Many are crap. I even have one similar to the one in your post, same colour and all. I always ended up charging it from the wall plug. Not an ideal primary power supply but it sure looks snazzy. Thanks for the vote.

I do have a bunch of cool solar powered stuff though as well. I did a review of this Solar Power Bank Camping Light. I will seriously stand by this one, it does have a much bigger panel that is a separate piece so it's not really the best travel but great for the cottage or emergencies.

https://steemit.com/alt-energy/@solarguy/my-cool-rain-resistant-solar-flash-light-and-usb-charger-how-i-ended-up-in-china-5-years-ago

What ever solar can produce today in the future I know it will just get better.

These are very clutch! Necessary for any camping or hiking trip. I have something like this and it works great: https://www.amazon.com/Anker-Charger-PowerPort-iPhone-Galaxy/dp/B012YUJJM8/ref=sr_1_7/137-4128180-3642011?ie=UTF8&qid=1501262086&sr=8-7&keywords=solar+panels

That does look like a pretty cool little solar power kit. When do you use that most?

I have one, tried it, decided it was a piece of shit. Do you know which brand actually delivers?

Mountain Equipment Co-op has some really good ones but they're not cheap.

I'll take a look if I'm ever near that store.

Nice! I need to get one.

Power bank is suitable for us who go far far. When we batre the phone runs out, then we have a power bank to charge the phone
I look forward to your next work

Good you are using natural energy and saving power. I am first time seeing it. Hope more people will adopt it in future.

more people will be using in the future I am certain of it.

Wow. Many make small gifts for @solarguy
And I make a small gift MEW
I really like your work!
Especially the pict I'm interested to see the making of images that's so refreshing!
Resteem =)

https://steemit.com/https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@pinkbiru21/meetball-delecious-but-die/@pinkbiru21/meetball-delecious-but-die

mi-ar placea sa am unul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45