My Cool Rain Resistant Solar Flash Light and USB Charger. How I Ended Up In China 5 Years Ago.

in #alt-energy7 years ago

Probably my most used and trusted solar gadget. Very useful on a picnic or a hike to keep my phone charged and to see when it gets dark out.



(Sits in the window charging while I'm out)

It started about 6 years ago when I got the idea and started implementing a business plan to start a small shop selling easy to use solar powered gadgets, tools, lights and toys. I knew it wouldn’t be cheap or easy and that competition was already pretty strong so breaking into the market wouldn't be easy but I felt I had some ideas that would make it a success.

(It's a flashlight with good distance and 3 brightness levels.)

One phase to make things cheaper was to live in China, learn Chinese, schmooze with the solar power crowd and meet people here. Pay some Guang Xi and treat people to some nice dinners.

(https://steemit.com/culture/@sweetsssj/standing-at-the-crossroads-of-different-cultures-relationships-guan-xi)

So I figured the best way to live in China on budget would be to go back to teaching English. I could live here make money and network. Few months after I arrived I went to a huge solar power trade show in Hong Kong. It was business and pleasure, but more business as I did not adventure as much as I would like to have. I attended seminars and sales pitches and workshops. I learned a lot about international trade and solar power.

(It's also a lamp with 3 brightness settings)

I had finished a season of tree planting and the few solar powered gadgets I had attracted a lot of attention from the other planters who were always running out of juice. I was flush with what felt like enough cash but after my week in HK I learned I needed about 5 times more money to have a chance and getting wholesale orders and being competitive.

So I just ended up staying in Dalian teaching. I love teaching anyways. The salary is decent, life is great and everything is different. Many days it drives me crazy. But being goal orientated makes overcoming all those petty problem much easier.

(It has a USB charger so it can charge anything with a USB adapter.)

I have not given up being an entrepreneur I have just changed my path. Next plan has been in the works for a while but this time I have more money and experience and interested clientele. That will be revealed in time.

(Boring techincal stuff basically says it charges at a decent speed)

This flashlight will be quite useful where I am planning to go and planning to do there. It has some pretty good distance and brightness. The grip is comfy and it's rather light for how big it is. I don't think I would be taking it out on a wilderness trip but for park camping and beach campfires it does a stellar job because I can plug speakers into it and play music all night from my phone. And power phone back up after.

To be honest I can't remember which brand it is. It was a long time a go and most of those files were destroyed. I bought it off of the display shelf at a trade show and they kept the branding blank on the packing so they could market it to anyone who wants to put their brand on it.

If you’re interested you can check some comparable solar lamps here.

https://www.aliexpress.com/cheap/cheap-led-solar-lamp-fm-charge.html

Or here if you don’t want to google it.

http://www.climatesolutionsplatform.org/solution/a-versatile-portable-solar-lighting-solution/

Hope you enjoyed this post. One small step at a time.

Sort:  

Can't tell what the second to last pic? It's bury.

That's just me shining the light out my window on the trees of the hill.

I love the solar gadgets. I love the panel charging daily use things. I want to do a lot of camping and hiking with my boys, so i need to start building a list. Steem On teacher.

Cool man I can show you some really cool stuff if your if you got your car with ya.

Car will be used to enter campsites and hiking will be from campsite.

I think prepper and camping type products will sell really well. Good luck to your business.

Oh they would. Not my future now. I need relaxed pace and sales can be stressful especially when its all you got to live of off. I do love going into army surplus shops, I worked in one for a couple years.

I still need all the luck I can get for my next my plan. thank you sir.

Very cool, I have a portable solar panel I bring when I camp to help keep my GoPro and cellphone charged.

Super useful eh? And easy move to around.

yes it folds up to about 6" x 4 " great little gadget. a must have for any outdoorsman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44