You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Allyship Sunday: Mental Illness and Suicide

in #allyship6 years ago

Thank you for this post. I appreciate you so much.

One thing that I think is underestimated about people who seem to "have it all" but commit suicide is that being very successful when you suffer from constant depression can actually make things a lot worse. Speaking from experience, some of my most depressed moments have been when things seem to be going best for me. On a biological level, humans have an inherent need to strive for more and be more than they are. When you've "made it" and it feels like there's nothing more to make (whether or not that's the case), that can be a very lonely and empty feeling. I've had episodes of depression that look fairly "traditional" in that it's hard to get out of bed and do the basic things to take care of myself, but sometimes I am able to channel those feelings into hyper-productivity, maybe even to a self destructive extent, just to drown out all of what is happening internally and to prove something to myself. When you have all of the money and adoration and success in the world, and you still go home at night and in the quiet all you can think about is how much you don't want to be alive, that can be deadly.

Sort:  

I know a lot of these feelings from anxiety, where the worst of it can be either paralyzing or a spur for hyper concentration. Sending good thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44