You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Allyship Sunday: Allyship Is Not Conditional

in #allyship6 years ago

truth be told this has been me too many times!! I sheepishly beg for forgiveness or try harder but I probably will never get it just right. There was recently a mass murder by a pair of lesbians that a LOT of my white hippie-dippie type "roots music" friends new. They also happened to have adopted 6 black and brown kids, one of which, Devonte Hart became internet famous.

What I saw was a clash between what all my white friends were saying and what some of my black activists friends were saying.

It was hard to reconcile until the police put out the statement that it appeared to be done purposely based on how fast the car had to have been going and the lack of skidmarks.

I wanted to give these women the benefit of the doubt and make excuses for them. But there are none. At least one of them was known to have been abusive before and people made excuses and ignored it all this time--and I know why-- because they are white. To somewhat financially capable white women were "saving" these kids right? they could NOT have done it ON PURPOSE?!?! it was obscene to me. But there it was. That was actually just a few days ago. I am and you are-- we all are works in progress. But we must learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60